We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“For a B&B in Rotterdam, look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 28 Rotterdam B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For a B&B in Rotterdam, look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from staying in Johan's B&B where we had a fantastic stay. As many people have already commented on the breakfasts are delicious and Johan's hospitality is excellent. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated in a unique style. Johan's welcome was really friendly and he was most accommodating in letting us check in early and allowed us to leave our suitcases on the final day. The price of the room is very reasonable. Look no further for your B&B in Rotterdam, we would definitely recommend this to anyone. Thanks Johan!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linc-yellow-belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband stayed for four days at the b&b and i joined him for 2 of them.Johan was a very friendly and a welcoming host. The room was comfortable with a couch as well as a bed.The wifi worked well and there was a kettle outside our room for drinks. Breakfast each morning was a little different with good fresh juice, nice coffee, bread, cheese, sometimes eggs, fruit and sometimes pastries/muffins. There was always plenty of it! Johan would be chatty but not obtrusive at breakfast and we felt looked after.

The neighbourhood was interesting next to a lovely square. It felt very safe. It took us about 10 minutes to walk here from Centraal station. There are a lot of Turkish shops in the area as well as nice restaurants, it was 5 minutes walk from the canal.We tried Zino- an organic restaurant with set menu- which was good. We also tried Branco for a 3 course menu with prosecco, amuse Bouche and pre dessert for 32,50 with tasty food.

We felt it was good value and we would definitely return the next time we are in Rotterdam.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at het Hemelrijck for 2 nights. It was comfortable, clean, and quiet. Johan, the super nice host, speaks perfect English (as most people seem to in Holland). The room we stayed in was a nice size with a queen sized bed, couch and tv. Both days we took breaks from seeing the City to come back to the B&B for tea and chocolates that are set up outside of the room.

The location near the tram stop makes it very convenient. Rotterdam requires you to explore. Johan will give you a map and some suggestions of places to go. We bought a 2-day pass from the machines in the Metro station downstairs at Rotterdam Centraal (note: they are not 24 hour days, but calendar days), which were a very good deal, and rode around and jumped on and off as we saw something that caught our attention. We also went to the visitor's center and got 2 walking tour maps (Rotterdam architecture & shopping) which lead you to interesting places. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UseMassTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A wonderful bed and breakfast in a quiet part of Rotterdam. A bit far from the city center but quite accessible by tram. The nearest tram stop is less than 5 minutes away from Het Hemelrijk. I highly recommend you purchase a Rotterdam Welcome Card to make it easier to get around. The bed & breakfast in itself is special. The colors and ambience of the place are wonderfully sweet & cozy. Our stay was made even more special by Johan's personal touch. A great guy, he made us feel as if we were visiting an old friend despite the fact that we had never met him until the day we arrived at his doorstep. The stairs are a bit steep but Johan was kind enough to help us with our luggage. The breakfast was delicious! He asked us what we wanted to eat, we said,just surprise us. And he did! Each day was different and delicious so we looked forward to coming down to breakfast each day. The rooms were rustic, cozy,and clean. Good wifi internet access. And do try the restaurant across the street named Branco which Johan recommended. Johan says Hemelrijk means heavenly place and it truly is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dissolvedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Johan who run's the B&B takes such pride in to this B&B and it is so obvious with the attention to detail. Breakfast is typical Dutch and is delicious.
Johan makes you feel very welcome and very accommodating.
The B&B itself is approximately half an hour's walk from the town centre.
Thanks for a great stay Johan!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Booked this B&B for myself and my wife on the strength of previous reviews and not disappointed. Johan is the perfect host, rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable with breakfast different every day. Great little touches everywhere through the b&b with free wi-fi and ensuite bathrooms. Why anyone would want to stay at a soulless big hotel is beyond me! Johan also offers advice on what to do and see and good local eateries. The stairs are pretty steep but then this probably isn't the place you would bring small kids!
Rotterdam is easy to get around and the b&b is only 2 mins walk from a tram stop; within 10-15 mins you are at central station.
I highly recommend you get the rotterdam welcome card - its about 13 euros each for unlimited tram, bus and metro use and vouchers offf for various restaurants, museums and attractions for 2 days use (you can get one for 1, 2 or 3 days - just be aware that each day is literally until midnight and isn't calculated from the time you use the card; for example if you buy the card at 1500 hrs on Friday for 2 days, it will run out at midnight on saturday night)
Metro and tram run to about 1am
Loads of places to eat - Lof der Zoetheid (they have a website), which is close to the b&b; great lunch full of locals (always a good sign), Spaghettata (on Nieuwe Binnenweg 151) - good italian, again was packed. The lunch hall upstairs at De Bijenkorf is a good place to stop whilst shopping and Dudok is a Rotterdam institution.
And if you like your Belgian/Dutch beers (and be careful with the high percentage ABV ones!), check out Boudewijn on Nieuwe Binnenweg - big selection on tap.

Room Tip: 2 rooms to choose from; just ask Johan which is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kubilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is truly a great b&b in a quiet place in Rotterdam. I stayed one week in one room and after a month traveling in Europe I came back to Johan b&b for another 5 days and stayed in the other room. Both rooms are super great and quiet with private shower and toilet, Wifi and TV. The house is amazing, great environment, relaxing and just beautiful. Breakfast is AMAZING!! Tasty and also healthy, I just loved it. It is located 20 minutes walking from the train station, 2 minutes walking from a tram station. Supermarket is just 5 minutes away and the owner is a wonderful, relaxed and super nice person!

Room Tip: both rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RM_463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 53 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast

Property: het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1e Pijnackerstraat 99c, 3035 GP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Bed & Breakfast in an authentic Dutch house build in 1897. The B&B has two guestrooms on the second floor with each a comfortable double bed and a private bathroom attached. During your stay your host will be Johan. Breakfast is served in the kitchen with attached balcony and sight on the inner gardens. The area is near the city centre and one of the hippest in town. You will find a variety of shops and restaurants nearby. The city centre and the main sites are easily accesible by public transport, walking or biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your het Hemelrijck Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing