We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sea food”
Review of Vis aan de Maas

Vis aan de Maas
Reserve with
Vis aan de Maas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #444 of 1,012 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Schiedam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh sea food”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

All cooked with a nice dutch style this place is a favorite of many locals who enjoy a good sea food.

Helpful?
2 Thank dykwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Desappointed”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I read all the comments left by the others trip advisor members and really wanted to go to this one.

The restaurant was VERY cold. They didn't put their heater on.. and when we asked, they said that in Summer it is too hot and in Winter it is too cold.

The service is VERY slow.. :( We were starving.
A lot of time to get the menukaart and a lot of time before getting the dishes.

I took the oysters. Not good. Quite small and no "juice", they were dry.
I went to a place in the center of Rotterdam where you can have Gillardeau oyster for exactly the same price!!

I took the gebakken musselen after. TOO SALTY oh my god!

I only like their bread and their fries, very good!

For this range of price, I think, it is a bad restaurant. We won't go back anymore.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadaziat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“the better”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were at the restaurant on the 28th January.The first course was excellent,the fish extraordinary & the desserts were enjoyable which resulted in the visit turning into an unforgettable day.The service was kind and friendly caring & the food delicious.Don't lose this opportunity.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tote p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming fish restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is definitely a place worth visiting. The restaurant is cosy and nice, and the service we got was perfect: friendly, competent and happy to make adjustment to the menu especially for us. It is rare to come across such a nice fish restaurant with a good meny that really celebrates different varieties of fish. It has a certain old school charm with the focus of good ingredients (all the food is organic) without in any way being old-fashioned. We loved it and will certainly be going back before too long.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
398 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere, slow service”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have been here 2 times, once in October and, more recently, in December.

Both times were similar experiences.

The location of the restaurant is right on the harbor - a little off putting when you drive up.

However, when you enter, all is well. The welcome is warm, the atmosphere great and the seats comfortable.

The menu is great - lots of seafood. We've tried the oysters, the lobster, the North Sea something fish, the mussels and it is all very good. Possibly the mussels are a little salty but overall the food is great.

On both occasions though, we found the service a little slow. When the staff arrive, they are great but you have to catch THEIR eye, they do not offer you drink refills and they can leave you waiting.

However, we will go back for their food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vis aan de Maas also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Vis aan de Maas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing