We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spido Harbor Tour

Spido Harbor Tour
Ranked #2 of 49 Tours in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Informative and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed my narrated tour of the ports. Rainy, cold, windy but the boat tour was warm and toasty. Very informative with an excellent crew.

There is an area on the boat that has games and other activities for kids, so this is a good choice for families. Food and drink were available for purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmcquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    262
    82
    35
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not bad but not exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The tour seemed quite inclusive, but we had trouble hearing the 4-langauge travel comments. One reason is that we chose to sit at the rear of the top deck. The speaker system is not geared to "reach" to the back, at least where we were. We finally moved closer and could hear reasonably well. My partner is German; I am American. He is bilingual and said more than once, the English translation is not "saying" it all in English. The trip was okay. The harbor itself is massive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bud101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Day tripping around the land of Heusden and Altena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

On 14 August 2013, my husband, my sister and I went boat tripping with Spido around the "Land of Heusden and Altena" (South of Rotterdam). It was a great experience, boating over a myriad of rivers, covering some 135 km, passing by the Biesbos – now a unique water nature reserve. We also passed through a sluice, very slowly but surely. A low bridge had to open for boat to pass! Felt very "royal"!

I enjoyed seeing old and new windmills, old and new bridges, big and small boats and more, all side by side! But most of all, I enjoyed sheer expanse of the huge water ways; indeed I had no idea of the vastness of the rivers in this part of the Netherlands (and I am Dutch!). Enclosed some photos to give you an idea!

The trip takes about 8 hours, starting at 10. 30 (one can board as of 10.00), returning at 18.30. It only runs in July and August (indeed, we were lucky to catch the boat this year!). Food and drinks available on board. Reservations are required. Boat holds about 250-300 persons, but it does not feel crowded, rest assured, because of vast open spaces above and below deck. Latter has huge windows (so as not to miss the sights), in case of bad weather. We enjoyed upstairs, sun and wind in our faces! Yeah!

The boat goes about 22 km downstream and about 18 km upstream, slow enough to totally unwind, while enjoying sun, water and wind! Nowhere to go, which is refreshing! In short, it was a happy, lazy and informative day. Warmly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Rotterdam's is one of the great port cities of the world, and seeing it from the water adds a new dimension. Even if you have no interest in ships, you will find this fascinating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbrboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“June 2013.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

To understand how much the Port of Rotterdam has grown to become the largest Port in Europe, and the World's 3rd biggest after Singapore and Shanghai... the Spido Tour is a must.

10 Euros for 75 minutes is well worth it.

The Tour has a multi-lingual running commentary in a relaxing and modern 'boat'. Taking you past the millions of containers which are loaded/ unloaded around the clock... Rotterdam is one of the World's largest container Ports.

You can see the ship repairs/dry docks along the quayside, indicating the Netherlands status as a sea-fairing nation.

Barges 'chug' along transporting their goods further up the coast of to other countries.

Great views of the city - the Erasmus Bridge, Euromast Tower and other significant and modern buildings which make up the Rotterdam skyline.

I've done the Spido a couple of times during my several visits to Rotterdam and it's a very interesting thing to do... educational too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spido Harbor Tour also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spido Harbor Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing