We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a eye opener to the busiest harbour of Europe in Rotterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spido Harbor Tour

Spido Harbor Tour
Ranked #2 of 50 Tours in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quite a eye opener to the busiest harbour of Europe in Rotterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is quite a huge container dockland in the far end of the harbour linking to the European hinterland. It showed all other facilities, like dry docks and warehouses. It showed the old part of Rotterdam, contrast to the new modern multistorey apartment blocks along the shore. Amongst other topics, the history of the bombardment of Rotterdam during WW2 was narrated over the loudspeakers in several languages. Very informative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    262
    82
    35
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
699 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“A way to view this gigantic port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a great way to get a view of the Rotterdam port facilities, which are huge. The tour only gives you a taste of them because it would take all day to see them all. You can see a variety of ship construction, container storage, oil storage, ship repair, and other places. Lots of barges, etc. on the water plying their trade. The only downside is that all commentary is given in several languagues (necessary for the international crowd). Still I highly recommend this tour. You can get a discount on this tour with the Rotterdam Experience card.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I knew it was a big harbour, but WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I took the tour on the largest boat in the fleet, the Abel Tasman. The trip only lasted an hour. The route took us to an area where we could see how enormous this harbour is. Even though it was Sunday, there was enough activity to make the trip interesting. Price is very reasonable, at just over ten Euros.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cool boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Really well organized and efficient service. We had a brilliant tour of the whole port of Rotterdam, which was fascinating to see from this angle and the audio guide made it even more interesting, a real thrill for those with sea legs of all ages!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank moosuddeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Somewhat boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I did the excursion on 22-May-2013 (Saturday). Even though I'm a guy with an interest in industrial sites, I found the trip to be somewhat boring. First you head west from the dock at the Erasmus bridge. There's not much to see until you get to the turnaround point where the tour boat goes into a basin with some drydocks and container wharves. The boat returns along the same path on the south side of the river. In the eastbound direction you get some better views of the Erasmus bridge and the city. There seemed to be little activity in the port on the Saturday I took the tour - maybe it is busier during the week. Fortunately my mobile device wifi was connected so I could work online during the trip. Also, the excursion is just over an hour - there was no need for it to be any longer. I will note that the tour vessel was nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spido Harbor Tour also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spido Harbor Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing