We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to see some of the biggest port in Europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spido Harbor Tour

Spido Harbor Tour
Ranked #2 of 52 Tours in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good way to see some of the biggest port in Europe”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went on a Sunday and we had a buy-one get one free offer from NS.
The trip lasts 70 minutes, and gave some good views of the river and some of the docks.
There is only time to see some of the docks nearer to Rotterdam. the boat does not go past the oil terminal or Europort. For that you need a longer tour.

There is a commentary in Dutch, German, English and French. It is best to sit on the right-hand side of the boat - I guess I should say starboard. Lots of facts and figures, but not as many jokes or anecdotes as you'd get with a live tour guide.

There is lots of seating inside and out, a bar, toilets and there seemed to be lifts for wheelchair access.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank traart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    272
    90
    36
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“When do they leave?”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We wanted to go on a harbour tour with the Spido, but there weren't enough tickets sold. Only leaves with a minimum of 20 pepople.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tazz-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A way to pass the time”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This tour of the Rotterdam harbour is a pleasant way to pass the time but would not make it on to my list of ‘must do’ attractions in Rotterdam.
The facilities are comfortable and the staff friendly with either indoor or outdoor seating as well as the option to buy refreshments. However, the pre-recorded commentary, in about 5 languages, quickly became obsolete as by the time it has finally spooled through commentary on one aspect of the harbour we have almost passed the next topic of discussion. A large part of the tour is dedicated to exploring the various freight facilities, so unless you are really interested in boats it is not the most riveting tour available.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK But Not Th Greatest Harbor Tour”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Rotterdam is not one of the most scenic harbors you will find in Europe...it mainly consists of local barges and large container ships from all over the world.

The day we went ther were large numbers of school children who seemed to be more interested in running around the ship and yelling at each other than learning anything about Rotterdam harbor. Thus we were not able to hear much of the recoded commentary that accompanied the tour (it's in both English and. Dutch). The tour takes about 90 minutes and gives anise overall view of the very busy harbor of Rotterdam.

TIP: Be flexible, especially on days when the touring weather is not the best. Check with the ticket office early...the tour boats will not operate unless they have at least 20 passengers...so ther may be a long waiting time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Interesting but not enthralling”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Went here on a alternately cloudy and sunny day in June, on a Monday so not so many people around. Started off sitting up on the top deck but quickly retired to the comfortable interior of the boat as the tour started and the icy wind picked up. Food and drinks available inside but we didn’t partake. Constant information is broadcast over the loudspeakers in several different languages, which became a background noise after a while. Not a really exciting thing to do, but interesting enough. Gives a good tour of the Port of Rotterdam and helps for the visitor to understand what a vital role the port has had in the making of this city.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spido Harbor Tour also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spido Harbor Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing