We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Recommend but lacks on board entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SS Rotterdam to your Saves list
SS Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommend but lacks on board entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Very unusual and different stay. I would def recommend to people. The deck is amazing and surreal however I found the on board entertainment slim to none. We stayed 3 nights )Sunday to Wednesday and there was no on board entertainment at all. Apparently from a Thursday on you can watch a movie. No olive music and the cocktail bar on the ship was closed however you could still get cocktails from the bar. Don't get me wrong out stay was very enjoyable but we had to leave the ship and pay around 16 euro in a taxi to get into town for entertainment. Bike hire is available at the Hotel also though... For 16 euro per day. Our room did not have a window but we were aware this might happen... A little difficult for choosing what to wear for the day however and if I stayed again I would pay a little extra for the window. Mini bar and spacious rooms on board. First time I stayed on a ship and would def go back. A little surprised at lack of entertainment though especially as it was July we stayed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear L.S.
Thank you so much for recommending us after your stay on board. Your feedback is very important to us! I'm sorry to read that we can improve your experience during the nights by entertainment. This is absolutely an issue to improve! I hope to welcome you back on board the ss Rotterdam in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    572
    169
    55
    17
See reviews for
211
570
28
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for one night and would highly recommend for location ambience and staff helpfulness. The rooms are really cosy with very comfortable beds and rather quirky as the bathroom is on a mezzanine level in the room.Would I stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaBV20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear SilviaBV20,
What a great satisfaction is your review! Thank you for highly recommending a stay on board the ss Rotterdam. I'll hope to welcome you back on board in the future!
Kindest regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This old cruiseship has been renovated, and gives a spatious, luxurious feeling when staying there. The magnificent furniture throw you back in time and while gazing above rotterdam, u can imaging being on a 1950's cruise (when the sun shines).

Room Tip: Make clear if u want (if possible, not all the rooms are available) windows. Business class rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Bram D.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience: a luxurious feeling. This is exact our goal for all of our guests. I hope to welcome you back on board in the future!
Kindest regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just spent two days on the ss Rotterdam, the old steamliner (1959) that connected Rotterdam with New York. Nowadays this beautiful old lady is a hotel in which you can relive the old romantic cruising days and yet you do not move an inch, cause the ship never leaves the quay. When you arrive at the ship you are welcomed by a sailor who awaits you near the elevator where you will also find a pile of old suitcases. All the staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant, wear nautic uniforms and that together with their hospitality and kindness make the cruising illusion complete.

We had a simple portside cabin, but compared to the small cabins on a ferry from England to The Netherlands this was a very luxurious and spacious cabin. Chairs and lamps were all 'sixties' and on the table there even was an old magazine from 1956 that really took you back in time.

We had bought the socalled 'Zomer Arrangement': welcomedrinks, one night in a cabin on the A-deck, a three-course dinner, breakfast and a tour on the ship for € 79,00 per person. A bargain!

We did the audiotour on the ship. Very worthwile. You hear a lot about the history, life on the ship, the art in the diningrooms, lobbies, halls and during the tour you meet uniformed men who were sailors in their active days and most of them even served on the Rotterdam. They tell you the most interesting stories.

There is a terrace with swimming pool on the sundeck at the rear of the ship. The food is good, prices are okay and the staff is friendly. You have a nice view on the busy river Maas. We were lucky to have splendid weather, so we could have lunch on the terrace. If you like ships, water, wind through your hair and some old fashioned romance this terrace is the place to have lunch and if you want to make your experience complete go there by watertaxi that will race you from one of the many stops to the Rotterdam steamer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear charliejoyce,
Thank you so much for your great review! Your memorize of a cruising illusion is really a great satisfaction and exactly the experience we want to offer for our guests. Your recommendation to make a tour on the ship I can definitely endorse. I will share your review with my team and I hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kindest regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed on board for few days while husband attended meeting also on board. Was a relaxing, peaceful experience. Ship interior is a work of art. Enjoyed hours sitting in restaurant sipping coffee, watching waterway view, while working on computer. Very friendly staff. Airline had lost my luggage for entire trip so was perfect place to be marooned.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Nancy D.
Thank you so much for sharing your 5-star rating and experience of your stay on board ss Rotterdam! I can totally agree that the 'Ship interior is a work of art'! There is also no greater satisfaction than your mention of 'very friendly staff'. As hospitality professional is this exactly our goal. I hope to welcome you back on board in the future!
Kindest regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was planning a surprise city break to Rotterdam for my partner and when I found SS Rotterdam was now a floating hotel, I knew it was going to be a really different kind of hotel stay. As a child I had sailed on the Nieuw Amsterdam and the Statendam and now the chance to stay aboard SS Rotterdam was very appealing. The ship has been beautifully renovated and all the iconic '60s decor and furniture really captures the mood of the time.

The cabin was a tasteful combination of up-to-date and period furniture and decor and very comfortable. Air-conditioning as required, comfy beds and an en suite bathroom with a great shower.

We had dinner on board in the Lido restaurant. My only criticism (common to the majority of restaurants in continental Europe) is the limited menu options for vegetarians. The food was tasty and well-presented and the staff were discreet but attentive.

Breakfast came as part of the package (hot deal) and was stunning - so many choices and a great way to start the day.

The stay on SS Rotterdam was so much more than somewhere to spend the night and is an absolute must if you are visiting the city of Rotterdam. The location on the south bank of the Maas is a bit away from the centre, but there is a local bus (77) and the ship has a courtesy shuttle bus from the Rijnhaven Metro, so it's not such a problem.

Be aware that check-in is technically from 3pm - we arrived just after midday and didn't realise. Reception were fine and we were able to get into our room. I believe you can leave luggage if you arrive earlier and go off for the rest of the day before checking-in.

I hope to come back to visit Rotterdam again for a little longer and I will definitely be booking in to SS Rotterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbxprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear nbxprez,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I am so glad to read "The stay on SS Rotterdam was so much more than somewhere to spend the night", this is exactly our aim! I will share your words with my collegues. Last week we launched our new menu with different vegetarian dishes, unfortuntely you couldn't have a tasting. I can also recommend you, for early arrival in the future, to contact our reception for check-in possibilities. Our lugguge room is ofcourse available for guests!
It will be a great honor to welcome you back on board!
With kindest regards,
Joost van Gils
Operational Manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After 45 years j was again on board of this ex holland American line flagship friendly and helpful staff. having booked a spring weekend offer including dinner and breakfast in order to spend a lot of time on board,this turned to be a good idea,as there is not a lot near by.food was excellent and served by friendly and efficient staff.adequate breakfast and well appointed cabins,this was a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea are quiet,but not a lot of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanGils-ssRotterdam, Manager at SS Rotterdam, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Ugo B.
Thanks for sharing your experience of your stay on board the ss Rotterdam! It is a great honor to read that you came back to the ship after 45 years. I can recommend you to explore the city by bike or watertaxi. I will share your compliments about the food and service with my team.
Best regards from Rotterdam,
Joost van Gils, operational manager ss Rotterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Cool
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel
#6 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Property: SS Rotterdam
Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing