We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$129
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
nhow Rotterdam(Rotterdam)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark(Rotterdam)(Great Value!)
$74
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$148
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Rotterdam City Centre(Rotterdam)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rotterdam Marriott Hotel(Rotterdam)
$231
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$138
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,231)
Filter reviews
2,231 results
Traveler rating
853
990
270
85
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
990
270
85
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantcruise shipclub roomwater taxiengine roomocean linerpromenade deckship hotelpublic roomscomplete tourocean baropen deckbeautiful shipold ladyport holesformer gloryunique experience
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 2,231 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As other reviewers have said this is a marvellous experience as, on a nice day, it is quite wonderful to sit out on the aft deck and have lunch whilst people watching. There is a swimming/paddling pool and it seems that a lot of local parents bring their children to splash about whilst they have a more civilised time eating and drinking. I didn't see this aspect of the ship advertised anywhere and it would be awful to turn up and your child wants to go in the pool but you've not brought anything. Prices are on a par with the rest of Rotterdam but charging us for three glasses of luke warm tapwater seemed a little OTT. We'd have bought a bottle of water if they'd told us this was the case. Still, it's all in a good cause?
Service however is shambolic at best, no-one seems to pass on any information and any request that is fulfilled takes an average of twenty minutes. A table near us, with an extended family, waited an hour for their lunch to arrive, luckily the children were enjoying the pool...
They're a lovely staff but management don't seem to have a grip on things. Eventually I asked a bloke in a black suit if we could have the bill and he said 'of course, sir'. Twenty minutes later it appeared...
Luckily we made the train

Room Tip: There are tables under umbrellas where it's cooler
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marki50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This boat used to do the trip Rotterdam - New York (and many other wordwide trips after that)
This ship is enormous and leaves a great impression when you see it for the first time. It is fully renovated but in the style of how the boat was in the past, an oldfashioned style icon. On the boat there are lots of pictures of the boat itself and people on it, in the early 60's.
Staying on this boat feels like doing a cruise.
We stayed in a superior room. Lots of place, sixties interior but quiet a small bathroom (the size you will get on a actual boat were place is limited) Charming though!
The boat is also nicely lit at night and is close to the city centre. You can take a watertaxi ( a nice attraction and not expensive) The city has a sort of NewYork-city style, I think, caused by the buildings and the water. The only thing that can be better is the breakfast. A lot of people can stay on this huge boat and the all meet for breakfast in a giant restaurant. A bit crowed and noisy, but with beautifull modern Phantom chairs.
Good Value - certainly when you book a sort of package true weekenddeals.com (with a free drink at the bar of bottle of champagne)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A few weeks ago I met up with a friend and we decided to walk to the SS Rotterdam. From Hotel New York at the end of the 'Wilhelminapier' we crossed the new pedestrian bridge and after a 15 minute walk we arrived at the (huge!) SS Rotterdam. My friend who never visited the SS Rotterdam before loved it. Especially when I told her we were going to have a drink on the main deck. As it was a sunny day we were able to relax in the chairs on the deck, enjoying a couple of drinks and chatting up. The waiters made sure we had enough to drink and were friendly.
The SS Rotterdam is a great place to have drinks, but also have lunch or dinner, or even stay a night when visiting Rotterdam. You can also take a tour throughout the ship. There are various tours depending on how much time you have. The complete tour takes about 3 hours if you want to see everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Marno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on board in superior room- our stay included a wedding- everything on board & it was stunning- staff were fantastic.
Great that guests from all over the world could also stay onboard.
Just perfect.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms have no windows.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corshamfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This one-night stay was always going to be different from being in a conventional hotel. But it turned out to be a great experience.

We had a Deluxe Room which was spacious and comfortable, and whose styling was (as promised) evocatively retro. It was clean and everything was in good condition although the style meant that it didn't have all of the "luxurious" trimmings that a shoreside hotel of this standard would have offered. Importantly, the hotel accommodation areas are quiet and secure.

The rest of the day was spent on the aft pool deck, enjoying the sunshine together with many families and others relaxing on a late Friday afternoon.

We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. This included a four-course surprise dinner in the Club Room, which is the more formal of the two restaurants on board. The menu was interesting and reasonably well executed, although the quality of the ingredients did not quite match the ambition and skill of the chefs.

Breakfast in the Lido restaurant is pretty standard hotel buffet breakfast fare (with pretty standard hotel buffet service), although plentiful in choice and quantity.

Hotel guests get a discount on tours of the ship. There are two parts, which can be done separately or together: the engine room and other workings, which is guided; and the upper decks and public rooms, which is a self-guided walk although there are plenty of volunteers at each point in the tour. An included audio guide explains a great deal more. There is so much to see - and it has been so lovingly restored - that we simply ran out of time and had to rush at the end.

We were not the only people who'd decided to do this on the night before setting sail on this ship's successor, the ms Rotterdam (VI). It's a great way to start a cruise holiday! And this successful venture deserves everyone's support.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews