We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveler rating
879
1,016
275
85
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
1,016
275
85
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantcruise shipclub roomwater taxiengine roomocean linerpromenade deckship hotelocean barcomplete tourpublic roomsopen deckbeautiful shipold ladyport holesformer gloryunique experience
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A few weeks ago I met up with a friend and we decided to walk to the SS Rotterdam. From Hotel New York at the end of the 'Wilhelminapier' we crossed the new pedestrian bridge and after a 15 minute walk we arrived at the (huge!) SS Rotterdam. My friend who never visited the SS Rotterdam before loved it. Especially when I told her we were going to have a drink on the main deck. As it was a sunny day we were able to relax in the chairs on the deck, enjoying a couple of drinks and chatting up. The waiters made sure we had enough to drink and were friendly.
The SS Rotterdam is a great place to have drinks, but also have lunch or dinner, or even stay a night when visiting Rotterdam. You can also take a tour throughout the ship. There are various tours depending on how much time you have. The complete tour takes about 3 hours if you want to see everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Marno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on board in superior room- our stay included a wedding- everything on board & it was stunning- staff were fantastic.
Great that guests from all over the world could also stay onboard.
Just perfect.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms have no windows.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corshamfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This one-night stay was always going to be different from being in a conventional hotel. But it turned out to be a great experience.

We had a Deluxe Room which was spacious and comfortable, and whose styling was (as promised) evocatively retro. It was clean and everything was in good condition although the style meant that it didn't have all of the "luxurious" trimmings that a shoreside hotel of this standard would have offered. Importantly, the hotel accommodation areas are quiet and secure.

The rest of the day was spent on the aft pool deck, enjoying the sunshine together with many families and others relaxing on a late Friday afternoon.

We were staying on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. This included a four-course surprise dinner in the Club Room, which is the more formal of the two restaurants on board. The menu was interesting and reasonably well executed, although the quality of the ingredients did not quite match the ambition and skill of the chefs.

Breakfast in the Lido restaurant is pretty standard hotel buffet breakfast fare (with pretty standard hotel buffet service), although plentiful in choice and quantity.

Hotel guests get a discount on tours of the ship. There are two parts, which can be done separately or together: the engine room and other workings, which is guided; and the upper decks and public rooms, which is a self-guided walk although there are plenty of volunteers at each point in the tour. An included audio guide explains a great deal more. There is so much to see - and it has been so lovingly restored - that we simply ran out of time and had to rush at the end.

We were not the only people who'd decided to do this on the night before setting sail on this ship's successor, the ms Rotterdam (VI). It's a great way to start a cruise holiday! And this successful venture deserves everyone's support.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The ship is permanently attached to its present location and operates as an event center / restaurant / hotel. We joined a special event organized on the whole ship and stayed overnight. The circumstances may thus be special, but we can say that the room was great. We stayed on the B-deck all the way to the back of the ship overlooking the river. The way there may be confusing but once you know where your room is, its no problem finding it again. The room was really nice, stylish, spacious with a great bathroom. Everything looks well maintained and well designed. Breakfast in the morning was also good, even though the staff at the coffee bar was tired of serving coffee and pointed us unfriendly to the coffee machine to do it ourselves. Still a great experience. If you are looking for the special place to stay overnight in Rotterdam, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dojolowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

very oldish decorated room
room has enough space, bed is ok
bathroom is standard
no wifi in the room
however, and the customer is not even informed of it (so do not be claustrophobic!!), some rooms have no windows at all !!!
breakfast is "chaotic" (long wait coffee corner, flow at buffet not well organized...) ; quality wise is rather standard
the boat is interesting (historic cruiseship) with old lowcost decoration (and sticky carpets)
takes this hotel only if you have a special opportunity on board (party, restaurant event...) or a nice discount; otherwise a bit expensive for what you get

the boat istelf is interesting (historic cruiseship) with quite old lowcost decoration

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews