We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its an experience”
Review of SS Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SS Rotterdam
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“its an experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a nice one night stay at the SS Rotterdam. If you give yourself an upgrade for Euro 20,- you'll get a really big hut/room. The setting is fantastic. The ship was built in 1958 and every detail of this oceanliner has the athmosphere of fifties and sixties design. You may think of the madmen tv series. You can get a tour on the boat where they show you all the different decks and spaces like the dancing room, the dining rooms, the smoking room the captain's bridge and cabin and the theater on board. The only downpoint is the food. Not especially a recommender. although the breakfast is OK. You may have your lunch or dinner a few minutes away in Hotel New York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArthurAmsterdam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    818
    220
    70
    27
See reviews for
321
824
35
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights to attend Rotterdam Marathon. Room fabulous, but cannot open the windows! it got stuffy. Otherwise it was a fun venue, watch out though breakfast is 38 euros for two. It is situated a 25 minute walk to the nearest metro, during the day there is a shuttle to the metro, but if you want to go out at night it is not easy as there is nothing nearby and taxis are expensive, if you can get one. Food on board was good and staff very helpful and cheery. Overall though I would have prefered somewhere in town so that one can just pop in and out as the whim takes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I loved the decoration of the room I stayed in. Breakfast was nice and watching the view from the deck was just wonderful. I would advise to stay there for a night. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denizkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Level Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

You can't argue with it - staying on an ex transatlantic cruise liner is a great experience! From sighting the ship in the distance to seeing its huge size as you draw near, it's exciting all the way. Our room (3 of us) was huge and very comfortable. The port holes are small, and wifi is in public areas only, but the views from the decks of the city at night are great and the restaurant we tried was good (the Lido). I wouldn't stay here if I was on business, but for a one night stay with a different with my teenage children, it was very good. Do check whether there's any business event on - the bar was full when we were there, and part of the ship was closed to the public. There's a daily trip at 10.00am we couldn't fit in, but wish we could have.

Room Tip: Ask about room size v cost and pick what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a (what they call ) Superior Room aboard the SS Rotterdam; this was room A001, a small room with 2 very small windows On the left side you could hardly get in or out the double bed. But you're inside a ship! Roomprice was very reasonable -thanks to a special action rate. My doughter (party of four) had booked a Family Room: slightly bigger, with an extra bunk bed in it. Room had no window, price was triple my price. Restaurant was good but pricy. Late-night bar was overcrowded, so had to spend our evening in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly I need to state that I am a bit of an ocean liner enthusiast so think that a stay onboard is a definite must and being close to the city centre comes second.

If you are thinking about a stay here, stop thinking about it and just book your unique shipboard trip now and I guarantee you will not get seasick. Plus you will have a memorable time.

This is the log of my voyage:
A warm welcome awaited plus the bonus of an early checkin.
I thought I had booked a 'Manhattan' style room but was given a 'Barbados' room instead, which was not really to my taste but it was changed promptly.
I had the chance to view several 'superior' rooms and they were all spacious with flat screen TV, a free safe and a coffee maker (let down by paper cups). There was just enough storage space for a long weekend cruise. Hehehehehe.
All rooms were very clean.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows needed more filling in them to offer more support, I ended up with neck ache!
This is often the case in many hotels I stay in and I always wonder if the people who buy them actually try them first? Sorry I am I digressing.
The shower room was spacious but it is a real shame that baths were not installed instead of just showers.
Shampoos were ok, towels could have been bigger, water pressure adequate but not great. Cleanliness first class!!

There is free wifi in the public areas of the ship and this extends to many cabins too.

Breakfast in the Lido restaurant was enjoyable with a choice of self service hot and cold dishes. You could sit anywhere you wished.
Quality seemed good. Again everything looked clean.
I would recommend dinner there too if you are staying for several nights. The steak was very enjoyable.

We also had dinner one evening in the Club room,
This was not cheap but the quality and taste more than made up for it.
There are special surprise menus which are cheaper than the alacarte version.
The staff were professional and friendly but some lacked that extra bit of polish that you would have thought a restaurant of that style should have.
My chosen wine (it was the house wine Chardonnay) was not available and a substitute offered but at more money. When I commented on that, a very good Chardonnay wine at the cheaper original price was produced.
Do not let this put you off - the food is fabulous and I believe it was a genuine error.
So if you are staying on board you should dine there to make the ocean liner experience more complete. The food after all is excellent and EXCEEDED my expectations especially the lobster and veal dishes.

In summary:
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Cabins very clean!
An excellent experience.
Foodies will love the dinners.
Enthusiasts will love everything and must do the ship tour visiting the bridge and engine room (allow a minimum of 3 hours as the guides are often ex crew and really knowledgeable and pleased to share their experiences)

Getting there:
Huge car park next door.
If arriving at the central train station, buy a pass to travel on public transport or 1/2/3 days as great value for money.
Take the metro from central station, line E to Rijnhaven, then bus 77 to SS Rotterdam.
There is a free shuttle car to the metro station from the ship plus the tuktuk is cheap.
Water taxis fun but expensive.
Have a great cruise!

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the stairs and lift to the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Describing where the restaurant and the sun deck are is a case of getting your bearings.
A fascinating experience from the moment of arrival to the point of departure. Rooms are very smart and follow the retro theme, nostalgic black and white photos guide you to your very well appointed room, with comfortable furnishings and wide bed. Buffet breakfast and a quick turn round the deck sets you up for the day. Shame I didn't wake up to find myself arriving in New York, but you can't have everything. You will need a taxi or car to make best use of the hotel, not sure if there's a bus stop nearby, but the novelty more than compensates. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms are at the end of long corridors away from reception and restaurant. Ask for one close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#7 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,471 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,287 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,137 reviews
Hotel New York
#5 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SS Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS Rotterdam

Property: SS Rotterdam
Address: 3E Katendrechtsehoofd 25, 3072 AM Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Cruise Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SS Rotterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SS Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing