We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,289)
Filter reviews
2,289 results
Traveler rating
879
1,016
275
85
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
1,016
275
85
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido restaurantcruise shipclub roomwater taxiengine roomocean linerpromenade deckship hotelocean barcomplete tourpublic roomsopen deckbeautiful shipold ladyport holesformer gloryunique experience
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 2,289 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Comming at night, I decided to walk from railway station, and it is on the edge of walking distance. But you can walk to shortest metro or bus stop, which is even closer. Beaware, that bridge from New York hotel is under construction right now! I took water taxi to get here from New York. Impressive arrival to Rotterdam SS! Very nice staff, super clean spacious room, even the comfort level. Fast wired internet in room, and good facilities ;)

Room Tip: Try to get one with windows ;)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

When you have never been on a cruise before, the SS Rotterdam is a nice experience. The staff is friendly and the view on the Rotterdam harbour is stunning.

But people that have been on a cruise before, know that a night on the SS Rotterdam is not the real deal. The food and drinks in the two restaurants and bar are quite expensve, you have to pay extra for everything like visiting the bridge or enginerooms and you miss that luxury feeling there is on modern cruisships. Also the two oneperson beds putted against each other are doing no good for romantic nights.

The city centre is too far to catch some beers or dinner in the evening without a car or taxi and so you have to be lucky there is a nice evening program.

All in all it's worth its price but just to stay for a night, otherwise you better make your reservation at a real cruiseship.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We visited the SS Rotterdam for the second time: just after opening we had dinner, and last weekend we had actually booked a hotel room. Checking in took long and the staff was inexperienced and clumsy. We had booked a superior room but it turned out they put us in a standard room. The floor of the room was not level, which wasn't the biggest issue, but the bed wasn't adjusted to be level either so what we found out was that sleeping was rather uncomfortable with a constant feeling of rolling towards one side of the bed. We spent a couple of hours in the lounge bar which was as great as a couple of years ago. Live music, god atmosphere and an amazing view of the city. Like we said the previous time: great location, to some extent still a poor staff and service, and the room was really dissappointing. Wouldn't stay here overnight again.

Room Tip: Ask whether the bed is placed level!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here one night for a business meeting the next morning. Quite an impressive site, approaching the quay through the mist. 15 euro parking and amenity bottles that simply do not open, as well as non-functioning internet access brought my rating down. Spacious room, comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast buffet included in the price were the pluses, on top of the theme/decor. Recommendation really depends on the person & circumstances - the other reviews give all the right perspective.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The SS Rotterdam looks impressive from the quay. So does the bill for service below par. Even though my colleagues and I were on a business trip, and just needed a place to sleep for one night, we didn't quite get there. Forget about the small windowless rooms, forget even about the cigarette smell. There was a party going on on one of the upper decks, and we had the pleasure of booming disco music vibrating throughout the boat until 2.30 am. Staff response reflected disbelief ("surely the boat is moving, can't be music"). Having had to dish out 15 euros for parking the car in front of the hotel didn't help to make this review any more positive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews