We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos aan de Plas

Gauchos aan de Plas
Ranked #53 of 875 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gauchos Grill Restaurant in Hillegersberg is situated in the green outskirts of the Bergse Voorplas and it has a beautiful view of nature and water. Here is widely grown and sailed. On the horizon you can see the impressive skyline of Rotterdam. Very suitable for a relaxed out-of-town session or for an atmospheric Latin night.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Top class restaurant with top class service and ambiance , Food superb , price verses quality is reasonably priced.
Live music on most weekends also now with Wine bar added to the restaurant. Worth a visit, this is a Argentinian based dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A fantastic meal in a lovely setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having been to many Gauchos before for their great steaks, I have to say this one is the best yet...steaks are perfect, service is great here, the ambiance in the restaurant is upscale - but not pretentious. The setting with the view of the lake makes this a great choice...the outside area in the summer is beautiful!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatsup7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good steaks, nice atmosphere and ok service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited the restaurant with 5 friends as a part of our fishing trip in Holland. Starting from the best to the least so. The food was simply very good. Everyone (6) was of the same opinion, and we are not easy to please. Steaks were big, juicy and very tasty. Only small complaint was that the medium minus one's were maybe more rare than m-. The atmosphere in the restaurant was nice, and the place (incl. toilets) was clean. The location was also fine, in a nice park. The to the service, can't complain on the friendliness or speed, but the young girls were not really that knowledgeable about the food and wine as one might desire. This was maybe partly a language issue (but on the other hand the restaurant should assume that they get foreign visitors). And then to my ultimate question. Would I go there again? Yes, definitely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StefanAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate here with 4 adults and my 15 month old nephew and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They brought out a colouring book and crayons for the little one and filled up his drinking cup a few times.

The food was great, the ribs cooked to perfection and delivered still hot!

View out of the window over the lake is very nice in the summer. After dinner you can go next door to the wine bar and sit outside watching the boats go by.

Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Level Contributor
131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Argentine Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently I had drinks and a dinner with a dear friend at Mendoza Wine Bar and Gauchos Aan De Plas in Rotterdam, and it was a very nice experience.

We started with drinks in the wine bar, which is on the backside of the restaurant. The moment you walk in here, you immediately realize that this is a hotspot for an after working hours drink and snack. Or simply to have an appetizer before going to the restaurant. We both truly enjoyed the service and wines on offer here.

We then moved to the restaurant and we’re lucky to have a table on this Friday evening without having a reservation. However, the early hour in combination with our wish to only have a main course, helped us out. My friend advised me to take the ‘Bife De Lomo All-In', a tender beef fillet with a choice of sauces, salad and in our case chips. The 300 gram steak was very good. The only comment I would like to make is that this dish comes with a price tag. So in the end the bill was rather steep for such a short stop, but I reckon still worth it. And that is still the most important part when going to any restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos aan de Plas also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos aan de Plas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing