We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ship Ahoy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H2otel Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H2otel Rotterdam
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ship Ahoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's a floating hotel in the centre of Rotterdam. That in itself is not so unusual, what is though is just how friendly and welcoming this place was. Spent 2 nights there and felt like a regular within hours. Very welcoming team and a wonderful atmosphere in the bar and dining area.

It's not luxurious, and that's reflected in the reasonable pricing, but it is boutique, clean and in a great location being just a short walk to the centre of town. And food was good too, lovely fresh croissants particularly. Rooms are not huge but they are functional and it was nice to open the side door onto a deck area and look out over the canal, even if it was snowing and minus 2 degrees!

Definitely worth staying again that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    128
    40
    8
    0
See reviews for
28
115
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The design is really nice and interesting. Very confortable beds but unfortunately it was freezing cold in the room!!!
We stayed two nights and we couldn't sleep because of the cold. We had an airconditioning machine but it wasn't making much difference...
We changed 2 times the room and both rooms had the same problem.
It is also very noisy ...
To be honest , we will not go back to this hotel and we wouldn't recomend it to anybody because for the price we paid .... it was terible!

Room Tip: If you want a warm room ask for the bottom ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Papuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fed up with the same boring old hotels? Well, stay on a barge in the centre of Rotterdam. This place is clean, modern, warm, is in a great location, has a great bar & a decent breakfast. The staff are very friendly. Understandably the rooms are a bit small, but they're ideal for those who aren't looking for luxurious benefits. The price is really good and you can negotiate good deals. It's tastefully decorated and feels homely - makes a really pleasant change from the run-of-the-mill hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the bar have decent internet connection - 32 & 34 for example. Going further from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right in the heart of the city, this hotel is a converted barge. The rooms are 'boutique' - not luxury but had everything we needed for a 2 night stay. We were lucky enough to have one of the rooms with an outside terrace overlooking the canal. The only downside to our room was that it had very little natural light and the 2 lamps didn't really make a great deal of difference.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good wifi in the bar downstairs but not available in rooms.
Breakfast was a small but adequate buffet. I will be staying again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had to stay in Rotterdam for business and was looking for an hotel close to downtown and the train station when I ended up finding this amazing hotel which clearly sounded surprising.
I decided to give it a try and I have not been disappointed at all.
Of course, due to the context and environment itself, the room was small, and this was no surprise.
Now, I liked this as an experience, plus decoration is really well managed.
I even slept really well, which i was kind of unsure at first.
The bar is nice. Breakfast room is fun, even though the breakfast is not really interesting (I am sure they could easily improve it with some local products).
Staff... sorry, crew is providing standard service, nothing more.
I think I would go back with my family at least for one night to share this experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legolas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the hotel during the Shantyfestival Rotterdam at 7-9 september 2012. The hotel has a great 'cruiseship' atmosphere
The rooms as well as the other rooms in the hotel have a nautical touch.
Very clean and comfortable rooms.
Friendly and helpfull reception staff as well as kitchen/bar staff.

Surely a 5/5 experience for us
Hope we can stay there next year again

Room Tip: i gave swimming pool and fitness center excellenr rating even though they dont have one, just to mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gejo-fototeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few days in August after we had just moved to Rotterdam. Our room had a private balcony and it was clean and comfortable. The whole boat aspect is fun and different. Breakfast was cold buffet but delicious and there is a hotel bar with free wifi. The staff were friendly and super helpful. Just a note, keep your windows closed at night there are many mosquitos!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissaussie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2otel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2otel Rotterdam

Property: H2otel Rotterdam
Address: Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 WR Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H2otel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of real Rotterdam by staying on the floating h2otel in the sparkling heart of the city. The H2Otel has 49 rooms in different styles,a bar-brasserie with a terrace and a landing jetty,a conference and art exhibit room as well as lounge boats offer catered boat trips in the inner harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your H2otel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing