We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, but too expensive for what it offers”
Review of H2OTEL Rotterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H2OTEL Rotterdam
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Hi, I spent three nights in the H2O hotel. I have to say that it is a nice and clean hotel, and very central in Rotterdam. And the staff is friendly. Nonetheless I really thought that it is too expensive for what it offers, considering that there is no free wi-fi in the rooms and that if you book during the week the breakfast is not included. I guess that what has really put me a little bit off was the fact that on the second night there was a serious problem with the heating system. I basically had to sleep with a jumper plus two blankets (the night receptionist couldn't solve the problem). I was hoping to get at least a sympathetic sign from the direction of the hotel (for example a coffee in the monring!!), but nothing....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palOeMafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 354 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

Only spent one night in the hotel but it was a fun experience. The bathroom was spacious, the bed good, and the bar area very warm and inviting -- having a drink by the window looking out over the water and the city at night. The bedroom itself was small but fine, especially for one night. The staff were very helpful. All in all a good and unique experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseee_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This hotel is well located, close to the city center and to public transportation. The fact that it's in a boat makes it an unusual and interesting option. The bar area is nice and welcoming, a good place to enjoy free wifi and a beer. My room was comfortable and clean but very small, with a tiny tiny closet. I had some problems with the AC/heater, but the staff came by promptly to fix it. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean, not impeccably clean, but clean. THe staff was in general nice and helpful. Breakfast was good, not too many options, but a perfectly fine continental breakfast.
Overall the hotel was convenient, but a bit plain. I thought it would be a quirkier, funkier option, but it's just a regular hotel inside a boat. I also thought there was a distinctive and lingering smell of stagnant water in my room, which was slightly unpleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Visited the Netherlands and stayed at the hotel 3 nights.
It was a unique experiece staying in a floating hotel.
We really enjoyed it.
The people were friendly and very helpful.
The breakfast was excellent. Big variety to choose from.
The room was very comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Fantastic stay in the heart of Rotterdam something special at a good price rooms are big enough and if you lucky you get the balcony rooms as we did, however more wardrobe would be good if you stay a couple of days. The breakfast was prefect and enough. Staff very friendly and help full we will back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

+ ideal for trying something different - this hotel is on the water
+ big enough, pleasant, theme rooms (I stayed in the upper room, which you enter directely from the outside)
+ possibility of having breakfast on a round boat which I do recommend!
+ nice selection of teas and good buffet breakfast
+ good location
- thin walls, so you can easily hear your neighbour

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koteczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Warm welcome from the staff on arrival. Spacious room, one of the few to have a private balcony/terrace to sit out on.
Plentiful continental breakfast, wide range of tourist information available. Only negative comment was that staff were not fully aware of events and restrictions for Pentecost week-end, i.e. shops closed all day Sunday and Monday and major cycle race on the Monday which closed most of the main streets, suspended trams and made getting to the station rather an experience - thank heavens for a Lewis Hamilton taxi driver!
Hotel owns Restaurant a short distance away - dined there on our last night and was disappointed that the standard of the cuisine did not match the hotel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpycornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
834 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,511 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,291 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Hampshire Hotel - Savoy Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H2OTEL Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H2OTEL Rotterdam

Address: Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 WR Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range: $55 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H2OTEL Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a taste of real Rotterdam by staying on the floating h2otel in the sparkling heart of the city. The H2Otel has 49 rooms in different styles,a bar-brasserie with a terrace and a landing jetty,a conference and art exhibit room as well as lounge boats offer catered boat trips in the inner harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your H2OTEL Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing