We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Room Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good fun hostel!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at Hostel Room for a few nights in a 7 person dorm. I think it was the Fiesta room? I've been to several hostels before but my SO had not. I wanted to give him a really good hostel experience and I think I found one that was perfect for that. The bar was awesome and we hung out there every night. Beer was good and cheap and they even had live music one evening. If you've had a few beers and you're starting to get hungry, ordered a couple of their hotdogs. They were mighty tasty after spending the night drinking. Our room was good. A couple big windows to let some sun/air in. Lamps at the beds and sufficient electrical sockets. The staff were friendly and helpful and ended up giving us one of our funniest travel stories. Of course, no review of Hostel Room would be complete without a note on the wonderful hostel dog, Lexxie! We loved her! She was happy and friendly. She likes a chill atmosphere so you might not see her if there's loud music but she'll be around the next time you come down. All in all, it was a good stay and a great hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlm635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    90
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
5
38
75
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was at Hostel Room for a few nights and I absolutely think that this is a real hostel! Friendly and young stuff! Nice common room with a lot of things to do during the evening. Cleaning conditions are good, nice rooms and you can also use the kitchen. The position is good in my opinion (no more than 15 minutes by walk from the train station), there is also a supermarket very close from the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianmaria_Gasbarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at hostel Room for 4 nights we were in a room called the board room it was awesome 12 bed mixed dorm so spacious and great views. From the train station it's about a 15min walk just straight down the road so really easy to find. You can't check in till 2 but if u get there earlier they have a storage room for your bags. The bathrooms were very clean and never had to wait to use shower or toilets. The breakfast that's included was really good and drinks at there bar are cheap and they have happy hour from 7-8, wifi worked so good in our room it was unbelievable really how good it was. If your wanting to do any laundry it's €5 which is fine but it take 6hours for our stuff to wash and dry but apart from that this would be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at and I've stayed at a lot so highly recommend this place and staff were so friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location of this hostel is great. Just a little walk from the city centre and there's a supermarket nearby.
The rooms were not too big, but okay. Be aware that there's no elevator.
Both the sheets of the bed and the room weren't very clean.

The shower and toilet facilities were poor.
There were too little showers and toilets, so when you woke up, you needed to queue.
The bathroom was always covered in water.

The breakfast was very limited and there weren't enough tables in the "breakfast room" .
The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed.

All in all a very basic hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here - I was in an 8 bed mix dorm which was only an issue with the constant comings and goings of other guests, but this is to be expected; to be fair, the others in my room were very respectful of someone sleeping and of each others' things. I made friends with some of my roommates which turned out great as I was traveling alone and then went out with them.

This hostel has an excellent location - it is not too far from the central station (there's a tram stop right outside, but I walked it in about 20 minutes) and it's only a block or two away from the waterfront. I was easily able to get to it, leave my stuff, and walk around the city. It is also really close to lots of bars and restaurants.

Staff were really nice and very helpful when I asked for suggestions or needed something. Cleanliness was average; not great but not dirty. Showers always had hot water. Really cute dog that lives there.

The hostel also offers not only pamphlets etc. one stuff to do around Rotterdam, but also offers various activities for its guests - walking tours, dinners, concerts - things to do in case you don't know what to do, can't decide, or like me, are on your own.

Room Tip: I imagine higher floors might be quieter as they would be away from the goings on in the lobby etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed a few nights in the cold winter of Jan 2013. Firstly, this hostel doesn't have lifts. So be prepared to lugged your baggage up flights of stairs. Generally old, it is in a part of the city that is quite charming. It is near a tram stop, so getting to/from Rotterdam Central is a breeze. There is a supermarket 5 min away and cafes/pubs close by.

My main issue with this hostel is

1) that because of its proximity to schools, you find a lot of students bunking in while waiting for their campus accomodation or while they are seeking long term rooms.

2) It has poor toilet and shower facilities

3) Breakfast in the morning is basically cereals and bread with juices and jams.

4) The staff aren't exactly helpful.

5) The shared kitchen is grimy and possibly one of the worst I have seen.

For the price you pay, you should expect little but still its the little things like a friendly service that at times can make all the difference to an old hostel.

Go with your eyes open if you must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgp_traveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar, Montenegro
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our room was very small, we got bunk beds - although we booked twin room. So, watch out when you book room, because they dont say you will get bunks beds. And beds were very uncomfortable and noisy. They have clean but always wet private and shared bathrooms. Breakfast is exellent and large. It is just a hostel, nothing more than that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suncica_putnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
756 reviews
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Rotterdam
#6 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,534 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Room Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Room Rotterdam

Property: Hostel Room Rotterdam
Address: Van Vollenhovenstraat 62, 3016 BK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Nieuwe Werk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Room Rotterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ROOM Rotterdam is a unique themehostel located in the central district of Rotterdam - the beautiful Scheepsvaartkwartier - and very close by the main tourist attractions. Stunning architecture, musea, cool & hip shoppingstreets, the place of departure of the boats to Kinderdijk en the Rotterdam harbour are just a doorstep away! We are located in a beautiful renovated national monument build in 1923 in Art Deco style and accomodate 17 themerooms all with a special link to Rotterdam and The Netherlands. We'd love to show you more and hope to welcome you soon in our hostel, it's up to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Room Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing