We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Green Heart of Holland”
Review of Hotel Abrona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Abrona
Ranked #1 of 4 Oudewater B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed at the Abrona 3 times in the last 5 years.Two visits were on cycling trips and the latest a short break with my wife'.
The hotel's staff are mostly handicapped and a sheer delight.They work hard but are very polite and friendly.The ideals of the Abrona charity are to be Applauded.
Oudewater is a delightful Dutch village - just 20mins on the bus from Gouda and about 30 mins from Utrecht.Both are worth a visit and the local countryside is lovely for walking ( just follow the bike paths )
Finally the restaurant is superb - just go for the surprise menu ! Breakfast very good

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel in Oudewater town. Near the center of this small old town. Rooms are good, bed is excellent and the room/bathroom are very clean. The only remark; the quality of the breakfast can be improved! No jus d'orange from a bottle please

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The abrona is spotless, spacious and with an excellent restaurant. Its also just a short pleasant stroll into Oudewater centre.

We had a problem when our taxi failed to turn up, and were in danger of missing our Eurostar connection. The staff were so helpful, and final called a staffmember's husband who bundled us all in his car and took us to Gouda station in time to catch our train.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

If you ever visit the Netherlands I wish you a visit of the little town of Oudewater. If so, spend a night at the very nice Hotel Albona.it has nice and charming rooms and a very good restaurant indeed. The Hotel employs 27 handicaped employees, who do a marvelous and very good job. We had an outstanding good dinner in the spacious restaurant of the Hotel. And the breakfest was a pleasure also. Oudewater by the way is like a little Venice. Vaut un détour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ger19531118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: rustige ligging .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nico d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank René A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrona

Address: Broeckerstraat 20, 3421 BL Oudewater, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Oudewater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Oudewater
Price Range: $94 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abrona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Abrona, a three star hotel located in one of the many historical buildings of Oudewater. Hotel Abrona will make your (festive) meeting a success! We have an excellent kitchen, a cozy restaurant with conservatory and terrace and a friendly service to make your reception, anniversary, wedding or family dinner a success. Partly because of the easy accessibility and our free parking. You can spend the night in one of our 24 comfortable rooms. All rooms come with TV, phone and free use of Wifi. One room on the first floor is wheelchair accessible. In the summer you can enjoy our terrace and there is the possibility to rent bikes. Next to the hotel there is a souvernir shop where you can find unique, handmade, colourful products and souvernirs made by clients of the Abrona Foundation. An organization that provides care and services for people with intellectual disabilities. Hotel Abrona started 14 years ago as the first hotel in the Netherlands where people with intellectual disabilities are working, including the kitchen, household and catering. Hotel Abrona makes it possible for these people to learn a trade, after which they can move up to a paid job. To ensure the high level of service and quality of a three star hotel, they are accompanied by professional catering staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abrona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing