We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location overlooking canal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Watford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location overlooking canal.”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for four nights last week and overall our stay in Leiden was brilliant. The location of the hotel is good, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Rail and Bus stations and 5 minutes to the city centre. Leiden itself is a beautiful city with many attractions and I think we would come back here rather than stay in Amsterdam. The hotel overlooks one of the many canals that criss cross the city, our room which was at the front of the hotel we found to be noisy at night. The hotel itself can best be described as quirky, we felt that it would benefit from a bit of a makeover to brighten some of the interior and improve lighting in the corridors, our TV was fairly ancient and had an annoying habit of turning itself off. To be fair the room was clean and bathroom large and modern. Worryingly during our stay we saw only one person dining in the evening and nobody using the bar facilities. We felt that despite lots of local competition it should attract lots of guests in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CREMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
17
49
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before but several years ago. My wife and I were visiting Leiden for a few days to catch up with friends and revisit old haunts as we lived in Leiden for a few months in 2010, and where better to stay than at The Nieuw Minerva, very centrally situated which is ideal for walking the city centre. I can't praise them enough for how we were looked after. My wife had broken her wrist on the morning of travelling to Holland and Sumaya Abdeen the receptionist was very kind and checked us into the Bridal Suite, no less!! The room was large with a 4 Poster and a bath in the room with separate shower, a pity we couldn't do it justice!! Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel. If there is one criticism, the decor is becoming tired and in need of freshening up somewhat but nevertheless 'Highly recommended'!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank floyd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva quite a lot the last year, due to a course I'm following in Leiden. The reason why I stay at this hotel is not only because of the ideal location in the centre of Leiden, but mostly because of the way the staff makes me feel welcome. It's a familyrun hotel and when travelling on your own, you feel easily like you're part of the family. Always interested in who I am and what I do, and that's what I like. The room is clean, bed sleeps well, shower is good and breakfast is reliable ( I like the fresh baked bread). They also serve food in the evening, even when you arrive quite late, it's a simple menu but good. Because of the location, in the centre of Leiden, you can expect some noise from the street but that's mostly in the weekend or during special events like 'Leiden Ontzet'. If you are looking for an intimate and personal hotel I would recommend City Hotel Nieuw Minerva.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If mainstream chain hotels are your preference then this hotel may not be for you, however if you appreciate a more traditional charming hotel with a mix of room types then stay here! You cannot fault the location, the cold breakfast is functional for a decent cup of coffee there are lots of coffee shops nearby.

The bedrooms are all different and all clean, you are normally treated to a choice of films on the TV with dutch subtitles! For us the WIFI was not working but I have stayed here a few times on business and that was the first time I had a problem. I have my own favourite room but will not share the number ;-) you need to stay in a few first!

Definitely stay here for an authentic experience of dutch culture.

Room Tip: Maybe a canal view is best to avoid the rooms at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vk0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice with a lot of character and perfectly situated for Leiden Town Centre and local amenities. The staff were really friendly, helpful and polite (although I've always had a soft spot for Dutch girls :-)

The first room I had, although spotlessly clean with a recently renovated bathroom, was actually very small, dingy, dark and depressing (number 16). The room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the kitchens and courtyard, surrounded on all four sides by the rest of the towering three storey hotel. Horrible, horrible, horrible. The TV was also very small and the lighting was harsh. But for some reason there was a huge desk in the room?!?! The shower was good.

So I complained and for the last night they moved me to a room at the front of the hotel (room 11) - wow what a difference (10 out of 10!!). A lovely view, very spacious, huge bathroom and a big improvement (although this time a small desk - ha ha, why don't they swap desks about I wonder!!)

The hotel breakfast was very convenient, if a little overpriced. And with it being the same choice of food everyday it became a bit monotonous - cold cheese, bread, boiled eggs, coffee and juice. Could've done with a bit of variety there - what about a full English for instance? Or croissants/pain au chocolat etc.

The hotel evening meal was very nice (steak) and very reasonably priced - better than the Mexican restaurant next door that's for certain! Although with there being plenty of eateries close by, I went to a different establishment every night - I liked The North End pub just down the street :-)

On check I noticed they'd charged me a further €7 to pay by Visa Debit card (never originally agreed to that!!)

All in all, a mixed bag. Would certainly use again, but I'd ensure I check the location of the room first.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel. Otherwise the views are appalling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_A180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear mr,
Thank you for your review.
We do not charge for debet visa cards.
We charge 7 euro for a simple continental breakfast.
We are great to hear that you like our new room number 11.
Greetings,
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are tired of bland modern hotels, this is the one to go to. The entrance looks like your old uncle's town house in Leiden, a good reading table with daily newspapers, some easy chairs. The room had a good view over the canal and was quiet. The bathroom was quite newly decorated, the room was original but not new.
Breakfast is good for the price offered. The service was friendly and attentive. More a home form home.
And the location in perfect, 10 min form the station and two minutes to the terrace.

Room Tip: The room with view of the canal are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meis234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

When I see people giving this hotel five circles in their reviews, I have to ask myself whether they stayed in the same place that I did. This is a very old hotel with rooms that haven't been renovated in years. My room was quite small, with a lumpy bed, and although it did have a renovated bathroom, even that proved to be uncomfortable because they left out a few obvious touches. For example, where are you supposed to hang your towel? A towel rack on the wall and/or a hook on the back of the bathroom door would have made a big difference. I had to drape my towel over the side of the bathtub (or over the toilet seat). And if they're going to install a towel rack, they might as well install a little shelf for toiletries, too.

On the plus side: wireless internet is reliable and available for free in the lobby. They say they charge for internet access in your room (something absurd like 6 Euros per hour), but I had no trouble catching the free signal even though I was on the second floor. I certainly would not recommend this hotel if you could not get free internet in your room.

Breakfast is OK: bread, cold cuts, cheese, and typical Dutch spreads such as cream cheese and jam. It doesn't vary much from day to day.

The location is great, right on a picturesque canal in the center of town. You can walk to all the sites. And your room will be so uncomfortable that the first thing you'll want to do in the morning is walk to all the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leiden hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Property: City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 EA, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing