We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
28
58
51
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
51
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorold buildingcozy hotelthe location is perfectlate at nightthe hotel stafftop floorcanalstairwaybikes
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 164 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our conference in noordwijk. We had selected this place as it is 10 minutes walking distance from leiden central station and approximately 15 mins from cab to conference place.Fortunately for us it offered us more than convinience , as it was really nice place to stay , staff was very friendly and kind , breakfast is reasonably priced , but everyday its the same menu. We were able to upgrade our rooms which offered us nice view of the canal, the only drawback is hotel does not have a lift, probably because of old building, but the same is compensated by having a nice lobby area , where people can meet and access internet for free.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Positives -- The hotel is located in the middle of old Leiden, which means it is convenient to restaurants and the train station. The lobby is great gathering place to meet people. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Less than positive -- The small, plain room is a place to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob_mu_grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for the night while traveling for work. The hotel is nice and the themed rooms give a little excitement to your stay. I would say that it is a little over priced for what it is. The rooms are comfortable and warm (I could control my own heating) and the bathroom was clean and had a great shower. They also offer free wi-fi in the lobby.
The hotel is easy to get to from the train station and only a few minutes walk to lots of restaurants and the main shopping center. The only thing that put me off was the smell in the lobby. I'm not sure if they had issues with some pipes but it made downstairs smell of sewage. Luckily this didn't rise to the rooms.
Overall, a good hotel which I will visit again. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your response.
The problem with the smell is solved.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very good hotel. We had read mixed reviews about the hotel but our rooms were very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable and well decorated. Staff were warm and friendly. The main difficulty was reaching the hotel - we were travelling by car and the one-way system in Leiden makes it a lottery to find the hotel - it took us over an hour to find our way there! The other concern is the lack of wifi in the rooms - it is available in the lounge but you have to pay for it in the rooms - not acceptable these days!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel from 28th-30th September. When we arrived tired at 11pm we were given a room at the top of the hotel (3 steep sets of stairs, no lift, no offer of help with bags). The smell of damp upon entering the third floor was overwhelming and our room smelt musty also.
As two tall people, we had requested a room for 'full sized people'. The bed was a double which accomodated us both but unfortunately it was squeezed under the eaves so when my partner sat up in bed in the night he smacked his head on the beam! The room was incredibly thin, small and shabby. The television was a relic, the desk was cheap and old flat-pack and the cushions were tired and flat. Also there was a scratchy duvet and no sheet which makes you worry about cleanliness.
The bathroom was clean and the shower pressure good but the towels were barely large enough to wrap around my hair let alone my body.
Staff were ok, not particularly interested, but ok. Best of the bunch was the young man on duty at around 7.30am sunday. He didn't know where there was a post box but assured us he would get my postcards sent for me which was nice. (Mind you I don't know if he has yet!)
Breakfast wasn't included in the room price which was a joke as it is not worth paying for. Some rather sad slices of cheese and ham and bread that isn't replenished. Orange juice is actually squash and staff are surly.
Overall I do not recommend this hotel although the location is excellent. Please see my photos of our room as they differ wildly to the website!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Manager at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012
Google Translation

Jammer om te horen dat u een slechte ervaring in ons hotel heeft gehad. Wij vinden het zeer jammer dat U dit niet tijdens uw verblijf aan ons heeft laten weten. Wij hadden dan uw klachten kunnen oplossen.
Team Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews