We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, close to amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for the night while traveling for work. The hotel is nice and the themed rooms give a little excitement to your stay. I would say that it is a little over priced for what it is. The rooms are comfortable and warm (I could control my own heating) and the bathroom was clean and had a great shower. They also offer free wi-fi in the lobby.
The hotel is easy to get to from the train station and only a few minutes walk to lots of restaurants and the main shopping center. The only thing that put me off was the smell in the lobby. I'm not sure if they had issues with some pipes but it made downstairs smell of sewage. Luckily this didn't rise to the rooms.
Overall, a good hotel which I will visit again. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Owner at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your response.
The problem with the smell is solved.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very good hotel. We had read mixed reviews about the hotel but our rooms were very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable and well decorated. Staff were warm and friendly. The main difficulty was reaching the hotel - we were travelling by car and the one-way system in Leiden makes it a lottery to find the hotel - it took us over an hour to find our way there! The other concern is the lack of wifi in the rooms - it is available in the lounge but you have to pay for it in the rooms - not acceptable these days!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at this hotel from 28th-30th September. When we arrived tired at 11pm we were given a room at the top of the hotel (3 steep sets of stairs, no lift, no offer of help with bags). The smell of damp upon entering the third floor was overwhelming and our room smelt musty also.
As two tall people, we had requested a room for 'full sized people'. The bed was a double which accomodated us both but unfortunately it was squeezed under the eaves so when my partner sat up in bed in the night he smacked his head on the beam! The room was incredibly thin, small and shabby. The television was a relic, the desk was cheap and old flat-pack and the cushions were tired and flat. Also there was a scratchy duvet and no sheet which makes you worry about cleanliness.
The bathroom was clean and the shower pressure good but the towels were barely large enough to wrap around my hair let alone my body.
Staff were ok, not particularly interested, but ok. Best of the bunch was the young man on duty at around 7.30am sunday. He didn't know where there was a post box but assured us he would get my postcards sent for me which was nice. (Mind you I don't know if he has yet!)
Breakfast wasn't included in the room price which was a joke as it is not worth paying for. Some rather sad slices of cheese and ham and bread that isn't replenished. Orange juice is actually squash and staff are surly.
Overall I do not recommend this hotel although the location is excellent. Please see my photos of our room as they differ wildly to the website!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Manager at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012
Google Translation

Jammer om te horen dat u een slechte ervaring in ons hotel heeft gehad. Wij vinden het zeer jammer dat U dit niet tijdens uw verblijf aan ons heeft laten weten. Wij hadden dan uw klachten kunnen oplossen.
Team Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is located right on a bank of a channel. Our room was nice, clean, big, with a view on the river, it´s just few steps from the most beautiful part of Leiden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cozy small hotel, recently refurbished. Situated comfortably close to all, the station, the university, the shopping streets (right between Harlemmerstraat and Breestraat. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuMurBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent location, friendly staff, meals great, stayed as part of tulip cycle tour. Very clean and yes it does have steep stairs but it is THe Netherlands so that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed as part of a Tulip Cycling Tour. The hotel is 3 old building combined into one building. An interesting melding of three buildings not designed to be a hotel. Sometimes it works sometimes not. Free wifi only in the lobby. Good hotel for value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 17 in Leiden
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Doelen
De Doelen
#12 of 17 in Leiden
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311 EA, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: $88 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing