We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, cozy hotel at the heart of Leiden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Bandung
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice, cozy hotel at the heart of Leiden”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cozy small hotel, recently refurbished. Situated comfortably close to all, the station, the university, the shopping streets (right between Harlemmerstraat and Breestraat. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMurBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    42
    16
    7
See reviews for
16
49
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent location, friendly staff, meals great, stayed as part of tulip cycle tour. Very clean and yes it does have steep stairs but it is THe Netherlands so that is to be expected.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olcott, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed as part of a Tulip Cycling Tour. The hotel is 3 old building combined into one building. An interesting melding of three buildings not designed to be a hotel. Sometimes it works sometimes not. Free wifi only in the lobby. Good hotel for value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, the location is perfect right in the centre of Leiden overlooking one of the many canals. The room was very basic but comftable right on the top floor and with a great view of the canal, there was no problem with noise at night and it was one of the few rooms that you could smoke in (I think there were just 3 rooms on the top floor)
Breakfast was very basic with cold meats, cheese, eggs, bread and rolls, orange juice, coffee and tea. The staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The only slight minus point for some people could be the fact that there is no lift and the stairs are very steep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter and have a canal view, rooms at the back are dark and are near to a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baudour, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My stayed here in April 2012 while attending Keukenhof. The hotel is located on a canal, and within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. (Try dinner at Calf and Cow - delicious!) Our room and bathrooms were a nice size for a european hotel. However, our room was located above the alley way and we were kept awake until nearly 4 am with people yelling, singing and talking as they entered/left a club in the alley. We were unable to be relocated to another room as they hotel was fully booked.

Note this hotel is not handicap accessible (no elevator) and you must climb stairs to reach any of the rooms and the breakfast room. The hotel itself is interesting as it used to be 6 homes that have been conjoined/converted in to the hotel.

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice.

Overall, I would stay here again but only if I were provided a room along the canal and no where close to the alley.

Room Tip: Request a room along the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audiogirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, Holland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Amazing service, had a night in the bride-suite instead of the normal room we had a reservation for. Everything was amazing, only note is that the hotel might look a bit outdated and it's near a noisy location in the centre of Leiden (which is a great city!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrinocoFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This hotel is well-located and not so expensive. Staffs were kind to us though we couldn't speak Dutch and English well. The room was simple and clean and I loved it very much. Usually quiet and relaxing, but one night I heard some youth making merry loudly outside the hotel. It was good to learn some Dutch for me - for a while.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gummybear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 16 in Leiden
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
850 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Nieuw Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Nieuw Minerva

Property: City Hotel Nieuw Minerva
Address: Boommarkt 23, 2311, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel Nieuw Minerva 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Nieuw Minerva is located in the centre of Leiden between the two most important shopping streets. You will find plenty of restaurants and cafés around the hotel for a drink or bite during your stay. The hotel is situated along one of Leiden's many canals. This makes it easily accessible by boat. The hotel covers 6 authentic 16th century canal houses. In 1830, one of these houses was inhabited by J.R. Thorbecke, the father of the Dutch constitution. Nieuw Minerva is decorated in a friendly, Old Dutch style with a homely atmosphere. It offers a good restaurant and meeting and banquet facilities. The hotels rooms are decorated in various styles. Some rooms are romantic, some classic, some in Art Deco style, and a beautiful bridal suite is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Nieuw Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Minerva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing