We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
28
58
51
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
51
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorold buildingcozy hotelthe location is perfectlate at nightthe hotel stafftop floorcanalstairwaybicycles
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 164 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel whilst on a tour of holiday. Booked a twin bedded room but was given a room with a large bunk bed and a double bed in it. Clearly a family room which was spare. Room had no resemblance to the pictures. It was very plain and in need of refurbishment and like most of the hotel felt quite run down. Large areas of the hotel look as if they are now longer in use. Our room had patio doors to a filthy balcony area which could be reached by several other rooms and this in turn overlooked a disused office block. Quite a security risk.

The staff were quite surly on on the second day there we had no hot water. We reported this to the front desk. The desk staff simply shrugged their shoulders. We left promptly and were glad to be doing so.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Agree with all previous reviews. Would like to add:
Cleanliness definately lacking. Found two soft drink bottles and a stocking under our bed (not ours) when we were leaving and we had stayed their four days!
Soap bottles not refilled in shower and at basin in bathroom.
Towels too thin and well passed use by date.
Breakfast very dull and not refilled as things were used by guests (i.e. once it's gone too bad)
Warning for room 1 - VERY bright streetlight outside window and curtains too thin. Fortunately I had my sleep mask from plane still. Very frustrating, also workmen turn up at 7.00 am to build bridge over canal and are very noisy.
We managed to log onto an unsecured site from our room and use internet for free!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face canal - too noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NieuwMinerva, Manager at City Hotel Nieuw Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011
Google Translation

Geen werkzaamheden mee,r de brug is klaar.
Deze kamer heeft speciale verduisterende gordijnen.
De rest wordt opgenomen met de housekeeping.
Jammer dat tijden het verblijf niets gemeld is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I was looking forward to staying here based on reviews from other sites as well as the hotel's web site itself. However, this is one of those places that sounds/looks better than it is when seen in person. This was the third and final hotel of our bike trip and it was chosen by the tour provider to provide a convenient place to stay in Leiden, as well as offer protection for the bikes. On these two counts it succeeded. Only these two.

In the other hotels, our luggage (which was transported to the hotel and arrived before we did) was delivered to our rooms before we arrived. Not so here. We found the staff to be unfriendly at best. At breakfast time they were too busy making their own breakfast to help us out. I also was not pleased that we had to pay for the breakfast. It wasn't worth it.

The room was at least large and had a lovely view of the canal. Come nighttime, however, this was a drawback as Leiden is quite lively until all hours of the night. The bed was okay, but the duvet thing again with no top sheet really bothered me. How often is the duvet cover washed? And last but certainly not least, the towels were thin and ripped. Come on.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Well situated within walking distance of everything you need in this town. The room was disappointingly small and poky given what we paid and the en suite shower could not have been tinier. The mattress was really soft and saggy and sleep was disrupted in the early hours by someone smoking and letting off the fire alarm. Breafast was good and best of all they happily stored our bicycles. Not recommended if comfort is your priority.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

A pleasant and friendly place to stay. Well located on a canal (so you know you're in Holland) and close to university and the main shops. Surprisingly to me smoking is still allowed in hotels and the third floor rooms are allocated to smokers and there are dirty smokers ashtrays at top of stairs (pretty disgusting to me). So make sure you specify non-smoking if you need to (I forgot to do this when booking, and as I did find the room itself without smoke taint I didn't change). Wifi is not free, and in fact over expensive, and so like most guests I talked to I used the free cable internet downstairs. It seems to me to be bad management practice to overcharge an essential service leading to most people not paying for it. Apart from this, a good value and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbit321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews