We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glasshouses and gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanical Gardens (Hortus Botanicus)

Botanical Gardens (Hortus Botanicus)
Book In Advance
More Info
$262.69*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Center and Prehistoric Antiquities Museum with Art...
Ranked #4 of 61 things to do in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Glasshouses and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

It was easy to spend several hours here - there was so much to see from the palms in the glass houses to the orchid collection. The gardens are extensive and beautifully cultivated and there is a large indoor/outdoor restaurant and a shop.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JZHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    177
    55
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to go and enjoy the beautiful walk after lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is fabulous to combine with a nice walk and a visit to the Hortus Botanicus. You can have a really nice lunch outside the
park. Is very peacefull. When the weather is good and sonny you'll enjoy the most. and not too expensive!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful-even in February!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We went just as the crocuses were starting up outside, so that we wouldn't have to compete with too much of a crowd, and it was lovely.

The green houses are a real treat, extensive, well maintained, and full of beautiful and exotic plants, but the grounds were also beautiful even in the chill and nearly bare landscape of mid February. This year spring has come early, but still, it was a delight. We will return often!

If visiting with little kids, there are lots of stairs to climb to different levels of the green houses, so if you're pushing a stroller or have kids too small to climb much, you may not get the whole experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I don't understand much and wouldn't say I'm especially interested in exotic plants but this is a nice place :) I visited during open heritage days so the entrance was free, not sure how much it usually is. It's centrally located and easily accessible in a very picturesque are of Leiden is you ask me. They have some really nice plants inside.. impressive either because they've been around for so many year or because they're simply beautiful or because they lool interestingly weird like cactus that look like flowers :)
I can recommendation visiting the gardens!

Helpful?
Thank Katrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
1,040 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“leiden botanical gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

the renovated hothouses are not as lush as they were before the renovation but time will heal the wounds of renovation.
The japanese "Siebolt Memorial Garden" and fernery are some of my favorites in this historical garden.
One of the few gardens with free entrance for "museum-jaar-kaart"-(museum-pass) holders.
A good combination is nearby" Siebold-huis":museum of Japanese -Dutch connections.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens (Hortus Botanicus) also viewed

 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Botanical Gardens (Hortus Botanicus)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing