We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Doelen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Doelen
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hotel de Doelen is a basic yet charming place to stay...it's like staying at an old canal house. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of the canal. Hotel de Doelen is a great place to use as a center for a trip to Amsterdam & the city of Leiden. The hotel is a 10 min walk (max) from the train station, and around the corner from everything in Leiden. We did not eat at the hotel, there are plenty of places to get all of your meals within a 2 min walk.

If our travels bring us back to the beautiful city of Leiden, we will be staying at the Hotel de Doelen.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
14
30
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg, Fl
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a basic two star hotel. It is very conveniently located, a short walk from the train station and near restaurants and sights. It is clean. Breakfast was excellent but had to pay extra for it.

Two problems. First, no wifi available. The desk attendant let me use one of the hotels computers so it wasn't too great an inconvenience. Second problem was that the door to the bathroom was an accordion style that was VERY noisy so when one of us got up during the night, opening and closing the door woke the other. Leaving the door parly open was not an option either. Leaving it completely open and the light shown directly on the sleeping partner partner also waking them.

Perhaps not all roomwshad that kind of door but Id sure check before I stayed there again..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineFL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel is located in a very attractive street, beside a canal, and near the centre of Leiden, which is a lovely city. The hotel itself is very basic. There is no lift and my single room on the second floor involved a very steep climb up a lot of stairs. Not to be attempted with a heavy suitcase! The single room was small but reasonably equipped with a comfortable bed, desk, and chair. There is free scratchcard internet access. The TV was the smallest I've seen in a very long time, with limited choice of channels. The shower room was also very small but adequate. The shower was good and worked well, and there was plenty of hot water. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. The breakfast was typically Dutch, but adequate for 7.50 euros. Checking in and out was very quick and easy.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by how picturesque this location is. We had the front downstairs room, a queen bed with a rollaway, looking right over the canal. The room was quite warm so we kept the window open until we went to bed. We didn't have a problem with noise (as others have suggested), possibly because we were exhausted each night from our full days of walking everywhere, or possibly because it's just not an issue. The staff were friendly but laid back, a style that suited us.
Leiden is an easy train ride to Amsterdam where you can walk all day, so it's a good alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummabear314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

About ten minutes walk with a suitcase on wheels from the railway station and you're faced with Leiden's wonderful Rapenburg. The first building on the left side of the canal is the magnificent De Doelen Hotel. I spent a wonderful week there and via a German film company, discovered, in 1910, it was the meeting place for Sigmund Freud and Gustav Mahler. This is a very old building. It creaks, is oddly-shaped and not suitable for those who like anonymous square boxes or rooms that are identical. But if, like me, you want a place of character then it's ideal.
It's situated right in the heart of the ancient city and nearby there are numerous first class restaurants and coffee houses. Just across the canal and up the Rapenburg you can spend a lot of time in the Hortus Botannicus or venture a bit further and stand on the spot where the Pilgrim Fathers embarked on their journey to America.
I found the staff very helpful and welcoming and the breakfast suited my tastes.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

best breakfasts we had in the Netherlands. Beautiful hotel, very nice people, great location.

the more expensive rooms are probably worth the few extra euros.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

This old canal house in Leiden has a great central location, but which is a bit of a walk from the train station. There is no elevator, and the 2nd and 3rd floors can only be reached by a very steep staircase. Rooms on the top floor are quite small, as are the bathrooms, but adequate for a home base if you don't plan to stay in the room much. The breakfast is very poor -- if the cost is not included in your quote for a room, I'd suggest you walk down the street a bit to one of the restaurants for a more substantial meal. For convenience, the Tulip Inn and Golden Tulip hotels are just adjacent to the train station and more modern. The Holiday Inn is very modern and has air conditioning -- but is very distant from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lambdadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
0.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
1.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Doelen

Property: Hotel de Doelen
Address: Rapenburg 2, 2311 EV, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Doelen 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Doelen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing