We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is quite good. My room had plenty of space and was very comfortable. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant have very nice options for the dinner. It is not so close to the center (10 min by taxi).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 503 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've been to this hotel four nights for business/academic reasons. The room was very large and comfortable, with a balcony large enough to have a coffee table and chairs (quite unfortunately, there were road works since early in the morning); the restroom had both a bathtub and a shower.
As someone else wrote, the breakfast was one of the most complete possible (you can have it American style, British and continental all together). I tried also the restaurant there and it was very good, too. I would advise everyone to go there, in particular if - as I was - heading to the University nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been to this hotel three nights for business reasons. I had a very beautiful room with a large balcony, a king side bed, wiade screen TV, large bathroom with shower and bath. The top was breakfast. They serve you everything, eggs/scramble eggs, to pumpcakes, all kind of yoghurt, bread,...really satisfactory. The best think is that if it is sunny you can have your breakfast on the terrace on the river, really spectacular. If you like to run in the morning there is a very nice nearby running trail close to a lake. Really a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask rooms far from the road. Although the window isolation is excellent, in summer you want to leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank calma1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Africa suite was very nice.
The breakfast buffet was very good and has a good quality.
The hotel was situated on a very nice location next to a canal.
The hotel was located next to a bus station (time to center about 15 minutes).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice and friendly place where to stay both for business or holidays. Staff friendly, discrete. Very nice and quite big rooms, with large bathroom and balcony. Close to university and to the center of Leiden ( 15 min. by bike). I will definetely take into account this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice and friendly place for a lunch on a sunny day near the water.
Good price quality value.
No frills just simple and good with friendly female staff.
I want to try the hotel and restaurant for dinner
at a next opportunity.
Van der Valk chain has a very good reputation.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a 2-week business trip, most of which I spent in the bed with some illness. The staff was always helpful to me, everyone speaks English, internet works, etc. That all and the fact that the hotel provides very nice lunches and dinners made my stay comfortable, despite the illness.

Room Tip: The separate apartments outside the main building are nice, with an equipped kitchen, but very cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
992 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 17 in Leiden
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 17 in Leiden
668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 14, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: $95 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 Beautifully modern rooms & suites with bath and separate shower. A weekend, filled with relaxation and luxury, starts at the Hotel Leiden. A charming a la carte restaurant and cosy bar 'The Old Inn'. Culinary dishes in a pleasant setting, full of atmosphere. 10 Multi functional function rooms with daylight, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Your guests will lack nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing