We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but there were a few issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel, but there were a few issues.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is of a good standard and was on our route cycling along the Rhein. The day we arrived it was raining and we had not done much sightseeing so came to the hotel at 12:30. We knew we were too early to expect a room but hoped there may be one already cleaned that we could get into. There were rooms but there was a 35Euro surcharge to get into the room before 14:00. We declined to do this but checked in so we could put our bikes in the bike shed. We then waited in reception until 14;00 before going up to our room.

The next morning the 35Euro charge was on our bill. I declined to pay it, pointing out we had waited in the reception until 14:00. The receptionist said "yes we thought that strange" but she had not commented to us at the time. After some further discussions with the manageress the charge was waved, but it was an unfortunate misunderstanding. I would use the hotel again but be very clear about the communication.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    214
    66
    17
    9
See reviews for
117
164
20
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the best experience faced on Netherlands. A pleasant stay full of luxury and quietness. A very friendly staff, enough space at room, a quiet and beautiful view on these area. I would like to return there and to relive all of it again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the hotel gangways very noisy due to a wedding party and they were so loud that we keep waking up despite we were the last room on the corridor 116 That day we had left Oxford in England at 3.30 in the morning and arrived in Leiden at 15.15 where we then had demonstrations with 2 local dentist in Valkenburg, cam back to the hotel at around 19.30 and ready for bed, but it was very late before one could go to sleep in the hotel

Room Tip: The Breakfast was superb on the Saturday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dentalmanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are regulars at this hotel and always enjoy the comfortable rooms with balcony, and excellent food and drink. Meal prices are very modest for the quality of food served, as are wine prices - 3.30 euros for a glass of a good Sauvignon Blanc. We were fortunate to have some warm and sunny weather which meant we could take our meals on the large and comfortable terrace by the side of the river; never a dull moment with all the watercraft passing by. Highly recommended, particularly the 2-night weekend half-board package which is incredible value.

Room Tip: The junior suites have a large bath in the middle of the bedroom, which does take a bit of getting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HytheTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel and restaurant are overpriced. Avoid the food from the restaurant. It' s expensive and disgusting. They locked 200 EUR as warranty??? even the room price were 111 EUR. Somehow curious. For the warranty the receptionist didn't told the amount, neither she will charge it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pnicolescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Vary friendly and helpful, perfect English speaking staff, also waiters in the restaurant. Nice, clean rooms. Stylish interiors, nice merge of classic and modern style. Delicious dishes in the restaurant, both breakfast and dinners a la carte. The hotel is quiet and peaceful, perfect to relax. The bus stop is just in front of the building and the hotel has its own parking, what is a huge plus (it's very difficult to find a parking spot in Leiden).
It's a bit far from the city center (10min by bus). The room was very clean, but the hydro massage smelled terribly after turning on (I believe it's because of not being used, not poor cleaning).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oollusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this hotel on line and at fairly short notice without much research - based on price and waterside location. Wanting a hotel that was easy to find and from which I could easily access the keukenhof gardens. What a find! In the process of refurb work we were placed in a room that was finished only 5 days prior and never used before. Shower with 2 heads, and a bath, Comfy beds. Balcony. The bar staff were brilliant and both nights we ate in the bar enjoying very good food at a very decent price. Reception were helpful. Everyone with good English. Free on site parking. Limited (by time) free wifi access - payable thereafter. Chosen for proximity to Keukenhof, we discovered that Leiden itself is also worth a look. Would happily advise others to choose and we are already thinking we may go back again.

Room Tip: I would imaging top rooms would be waterside with balcony. These were unfortunatly not available to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DraggyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
936 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#6 of 16 in Leiden
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Leiden

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Address: Haagse Schouwweg 14, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 Beautifully modern rooms & suites with bath and separate shower. A weekend, filled with relaxation and luxury, starts at the Hotel Leiden. A charming a la carte restaurant and cosy bar 'The Old Inn'. Culinary dishes in a pleasant setting, full of atmosphere. 10 Multi functional function rooms with daylight, free parking and free Wi-Fi. Your guests will lack nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing