We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming and high quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very charming and high quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Overall experience: great hotel, very few rooms (5 + 1 apartment) so very intimate/personal experience. We were greeted by the host who personally took us to our room.
Location: 10-minute walk from the city centre, in a quiet residential area, overlooking a canal.
Room: high quality furnishings, wood on the floor, large flatscreen TV, very comfortable bed, coffee and tea making facilities.
Bathroom: very clean appearance, high quality materials, nice shower, design-looking sink.
Breakfast: served in what looks like a typically Dutch living room, buffet-style breakfast with a choice of eggs made to order.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was very nice (according to the host, it is their most beautiful room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
103
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had an amazing stay at Huys van Leyden.
The rooms are gorgeous, Gaston is very friendly and hospitable.
The Haarlemmerstraat lies within a 5 minute walk, and about 10 minutes away from the Nieuwe Beestenmarkt, with several restaurants.
Breakfast was amazing, small buffet and a choice of eggs and toast.

Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suus_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

4 men on a bicycle trip - We found this small hotel charming and in a perfect location for enjoying the delights of the old town of Leiden. The facilities included coffee machines in each room, wide screen TVs, WIFI and "lock up" for the bicycles. The décor has been done to a high standard and the service was both friendly and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel for a break in the beautiful town of Leiden.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with mobility ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K9John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a delightful bed and breakfast! The house was gorgeous, the location was beautiful, breakfast was fantastic, and the staff were tremendously helpful. You couldn't ask for more from a Bed and Breakfast!

Fair warning: the hot tub is more of a warm tub unless you give it ample time to heat up, so plan ahead!

We loved this B&B, and we will definitely stay here again when we pass through Leiden!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelinbolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were met at the Amsterdam Airport right on time, driven to the Huys van Leyden, and were given a warm and informative welcome upon arrival. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet; and the bathroom was up to date with a good shower. The choice of a very good hot or cold breakfast was offered and served in a lovely room, overlooking a canal. The location is excellent for walking to the sights, restaurants, and rail station. The hospitality and recommendations of the hosts were excellent. As the hotel is located in a charming, but old Dutch house, be aware that the stairways are very narrow and steep.

Room Tip: Ask the owners what they would recommend for the type of accommodation you would like to have.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank csaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've just returned from a 4 night stay. It was wonderful. We had the 2 level room 3. Bed was comfortable with nice cotton sheets. Bathroom and shower modern and clean. The whole place was beautifully decorated. The roof terrace is lovely. Breakfast was good with a choice of cooked dishes and a cold buffet. Gaston and the other staff we met were really friendly and helpful. The nespresso maker was a nice touch. It is an easy 15 min stroll along the canal to the station, or you can get the bus from round the corner. Lots of lovely Cafes and restaurants in easy walking distance. Leiden itself is lovely to stroll around and I would recommend a canal boat trip.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely but had very steep twisty stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is an old dutch house and it is cosy and beautifully decorated. It's in the centre on Leiden so you can walk everywhere. The guys who run it are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious and server in a 17th century decorated room. Book it, you won't disappointed.

Room Tip: room 3 is split in 2 levels, downstairs you've got a kitchenette/living room area and the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel De Barones van Leyden
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden

Property: Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Address: Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huys van Leyden is an intimate 4-star boutique hotel with a stylish ambience and a focus on personal attention, comfort and relaxation. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure Huys van Leyden is ideally situated in Leiden. Located on a charming canal you can experience an abundance of different pleasures from fine dining and theatre to a relaxing walk through the historic heart of Leiden. The beautiful national monument built in 1611, which overlooks one of the city's most beautiful canals, as well as the city centre are both within walking distance. The 400-year-old building has five special hotel rooms all with their own unique style. The rooms are located on various floors in the property. Please note! We do not have a lift. Curious? ON THE 1st OF MARCH 2015, OUR SECOND 4 STAR HOTEL: "THE BARONES OF LEYDEN" WILL OPEN HER DOORS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing