We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is an old dutch house and it is cosy and beautifully decorated. It's in the centre on Leiden so you can walk everywhere. The guys who run it are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious and server in a 17th century decorated room. Book it, you won't disappointed.

Room Tip: room 3 is split in 2 levels, downstairs you've got a kitchenette/living room area and the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmlstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
103
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The building is actually an old house,but very ,but well renovated and neat.
The rooms are very nicely decorated,clean and very cozy,beautiful view,quiet, very relaxing!!
Breakfast is very rich, quality products ,served in a beautiful room,is like a mini restaurant
Very good location close to downtown, the city is very small anyway:))

Room Tip: You can ask the attic room,is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihaelapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a lovely, laid back hotel with bags of style. My room had a view of the canal, huge windows and beams. Breakfast is served in a rather grand first floor dining room with crisp white linens. I loved the feeling of the place and the sense of luxury that comes from renovating an historic building beautifully. The owners are helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This bed and breakfast was located right on a main canal of the city, and within walking distance to most of the other destinations in the city. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and took time to talk to us and make sure we were taken care of. Stayed here as part of our trip with Tulip Cycling and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a great place to stay. Very central to everything. The breakfast was great and the staff is terrific. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The nespresso maker in the room was great. The mini bar price was great. Did I mention location! . Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Let me start by saying that I much prefer small quirky hotels to the large anonymous international chains - so the Huys van Leyden had a good start.

While attending a trade show in Amsterdam a colleague and myself decided to stay in Leiden to escape the crowds. He found this B&B and we were given the two rooms at the top of the house. These were ideal with high ceilings and a great sense of space. Breakfast is served “in room” with most of it provided in the room’s fridge and warm breads being delivered at your chosen time in the morning. Each room has a coffee maker.

The bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for the shower.

A ten minute stroll along the canal leads you to a large square with a wide range of restaurants for dinner.

The couple who run the Huys van Leyden were very welcoming and helpful. I would have no doubts about returning there again in future.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor are accessed by a (very Dutch) spiral staircase. Anyone with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just spent 3 nights in this superb B&B in Leiden. We were allocated Room 3, which has 2 levels - the lower level has a lounge room with flat screen TV, kitchenette, with cooking utensils for light meals, and bathroom, and upper level a large bedroom, with a huge flat screen TV. We had access to a large rooftop terrace. Each day a large assortment of fresh breads and hot boiled eggs were provided to our room, at a time we arranged, and in the fridge we had an assortment of cheeses and meats, as well as milk and juice. The house is located a short walk from the city centre, supermarket, and central station. We would highly recommend this B&B if you require accommodation in Leiden, The Netherlands, and it certainly is excellent value for what we paid.

Room Tip: If staying more than 1 night ask for Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 16 in Leiden
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
850 reviews
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel De Barones van Leyden
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Doelen
Hotel de Doelen
#11 of 16 in Leiden
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden

Property: Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Address: Oude Singel 212, 2312 RJ, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huys van Leyden is an intimate 4-star boutique hotel with a stylish ambience and a focus on personal attention, comfort and relaxation. Whether you're travelling for business or pleasure Huys van Leyden is ideally situated in Leiden. Located on a charming canal you can experience an abundance of different pleasures from fine dining and theatre to a relaxing walk through the historic heart of Leiden. The beautiful national monument built in 1611, which overlooks one of the city's most beautiful canals, as well as the city centre are both within walking distance. The 400-year-old building has five special hotel rooms all with their own unique style. The rooms are located on various floors in the property. Please note! We do not have a lift. Curious? ON THE 1st OF MARCH 2015, OUR SECOND 4 STAR HOTEL: "THE BARONES OF LEYDEN" WILL OPEN HER DOORS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing