We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting”
Review of Het Prentenkabinet

Het Prentenkabinet
Ranked #20 of 284 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We've been to Leiden many times and went here on a recommendation from family. The setting itself was beautiful, you would be forgiven if the food was sub par. Thankfully this wasn't the case. The menu offers lots of choice including a 'surprise' menu which one of our party availed of. The waiters were charming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food itself was exquisite, great flavours, and wonderfully presented.

I'm looking forward to visiting when I'm next in Leiden. Maybe next time I'll sit out on their terrace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snuffles1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    64
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the Great Squares in Europe”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I sought Het Prentenkabinet based on prior reviews. The walk along the canal to the restaurant passes the house of Jan Steen and the church. The restaurant is clustered on Kloksteeg opposite a small garden of the church. Picture-perfect, the panels are wood and there are pictures of prior dignitaries on the wall. The observant staff gave me a historical description of the building. The prix fix meal featured sea bass, well prepared and elegant to look at. The wines were excellent and for Euro32 this was a great find until the check came with all items 'a la carte'. The staff was obliging to change the bill but it dampened the shine of this great restaurant. In Leyden I would definitely eat there again; but with care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fhh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Watch the bill”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great ambience, nice setting, service friendly and good if a little slow. We were a couple but they had two large groups in who got most of the attention. Food excellent. BUT check the bill as we were overcharged which we did not notice until too late to go back and query it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobcCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, classy place, good food and service”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have visited this restaurant 2-3 times per year during the last 8 years. The food is always excellent, the service friendly and professional.

Most of their menus, like the Gastronomical menu, offer a very good selection of tasty dishes, at a reasonable price.

We will keep coming to this place, have never been disappointed !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodaddict001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food & atmosphere, but slow service”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Ate here with some colleagues and clients. The food was excellent, from appetizer to halibut main course to "surprise" dessert, and the presentation was also of a very high quality. The atmosphere was very charming as well (church outside has memorial plaque as it was the source of a large group of the voyageurs on the original Mayflower that sailed to North America). The service was also great when they provided it - the only drawback was that the courses took a long time to come; were were chatting and good conversation, but it was way too long to wait between courses.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Prentenkabinet also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Het Prentenkabinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing