We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient”
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great location near the train station.

Oddly for an otherwise no-frills hotel, there's a kitchen and a bar.

Friendly staff who seemed to run both the front desk and the food
service at once.

Room was attractive; a few issues (bathroom light ballast, balky
front door) were fixed first thing Monday morning - the maintenance
man was off for the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank xoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Leiden Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 657 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

A new modern hotel with reasonably large rooms and bathrooms but no cupboards to put any thing away. The bed was blissfully comfortable. The air conditioning worked well but would not stay on e.g. you set it going at night but by the morning it had powered off. Free internet. The location is a short walk from the station and very convenient. On the Sunday morning, I tried the breakfast as there was no alternative open locally but I found the standard of food poor. However, for a comfortable short stay by the station, the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Leiden Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about your stay. Kind regards, Team ibis Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was clean. The towels were small, there was nothing in the room other than a bed, a small desk, a shelf, and a wardrobe with nothing anywhere. It just didn't appeal. Breakfast was expensive for what it was but at least there were hot eggs and bacon. The location was right near the train station so it made a trip to Amsterdam or The Hague a breeze. The bed was comfortable enough I suppose. I wouldn't stay here again because there was no charm or character--this is probably a decent business hotel option for a small European city, but not for vacationers.

Room Tip: Try for a room near the elevator or on a low floor, there's no view to be had really.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments, Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations.
Ibis Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I left a fairly negative but factual review of the poor service we had received at the Ibis - sadly we had had a long wait for towels that never arrived and had to check out without having had a chance to have breakfast or a shower.

On my return to the UK the hotel manager gave me a call and talked through what had happened, and agreed that their service had fallen well below that expected of the group, and had failed to meet their own 15 minute guarantee or your money back promise. They refunded the cost of my stay and offered me another night as their guest to show me that this was a one off.

So whilst we had one bad experience, I think travellers can stay here in confidence as whilst mistakes do happen, they obviously have a management team that cares, and tries to put it right.

Looking forward to staying again in September.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very good location right next to the train station. Breakfast was included and it was good with a nice variety to choose from. The room was clean and the service was good. One down side was the size of it which was a little small, but other than that it was definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis leiden Centre, We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Team ibis Leiden centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, opposite the train station, near parking garages and within 200 meters of Leiden's beautiful and pleasant old city-centre. The soundproofing is great, no noise whatsoever. I had a nice room at the back on the 6th floor with a gorgeous view of the old city. My single room was fair-sized and seemed larger because of the big window and view. It was scrupulously clean. The bed had a very good mattress. I personally didn’t mind the rather thin towels that some people mention because they dry you off better than thick fluffy ones. The only negative I can think of is the thickness of the duvet. It is too warm for summer and there is no alternative. I do like some covering when I sleep. However, all in all a very nice experience and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Team ibis Leiden Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2312ARibisLeiden, Manager at Ibis Leiden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range: $88 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing