We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
North of London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Does exactly what you would expect from a business hotel. Small, well appointed room. Odd bathroom, rather stuffed into corner, but clean with good shower. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Very convenient for station. Minimal evening food but plenty of good restaurants around corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sat_with_some_cereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    255
    89
    19
    3
See reviews for
86
152
75
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ibis offered an expensive stay in a really small room (around 350 euros for two nights including breakfast). Besides the price and the small room, things were pretty ok. Bathroom was great, especially the big shower. Even the wifi worked pretty well. In general the room was pretty new and clean.

Breakfast was very minimal. There are great cafes within couple minute walk so that might be another option for the breakfast also.

The location is very convenient since the hotel is right next to the railway station. Although this also had a side effect, meaning the views from the hotel room were pretty industrial since the rail tracks are right beside the hotel.

In summary: Ibis Leiden was just what I needed: all business, no pleasure. I would not recommend the place for a holiday trip, but for business purposes the hotel was a decent choice.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views (eg. 5th or 6th floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perttu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

There were 30 of us booked into the IBIS by Leiden train station for my sisters wedding. Realy comfortable and clean. We booked taxis to take us to the location and they never showed making us late for the ceremony. After we came back at 2am to be told that despite hhe 24/7 advertising gor food and drink they stop serving at 1am. Why advertise one thing and do another. Saying that great location most staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have given this hotel 5 stars judging it against similar types of hotel. It is not a luxury Grand Hotel obviously but as a low-cost hotel it is one of the best I have stayed in. Location near the station is excellent if you are travelling by train and the centre of Leiden is a few minutes walk away. Unlike many cities, the area around the station is fine. You can also catch a bus to local places from just across the road.
The staff were unfailingly helpful. Rooms are small-ish (as expected) but clean and ours had a great view over the city. We heard no traffic noise at all. Breakfast was good: continental buffet with a few hot things. There is no restaurant but there is a bar. If I had to nit-pick, I would have preferred more English tv channels and a toaster at breakfast but that's it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
231 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

With the IBIS chain you know what to expect. Comfortable bed, good but basic room and bathroom. Clean, but 'sterile' atmosphere. In this hotel they installed some 'cosy' corners at the lobby, but is stays impersonal. Breakfast is rather expensive.
Location is fine, one step from the train and bus station, two steps from the very idyllic centre of Leiden. If you come by car, you can use the parking at ‘Haagweg’, it is the cheapest in town and they have a free city shuttle.
I would recommend this hotel for business or citytrip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kishanganj
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

stayed in a group.they did not ask for our ID. Great.the rooms were very small and they had a baby cot when we checked in .we informed the reception but after waiting for some time we decided to keep it out ourselves.so much for room service. our rooms were booked with the condition that tea makers will be provided but there were no tea makers in the room.its only after a discussion we did get one.they provided tea bags only one the first day only.breakfast menu was at best mediocre and they had same menu on all five days.would prefer another hotel

Room Tip: avoid if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukhen Kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Fitland Leiden
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#5 of 15 in Leiden
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Huys van Leyden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Property: Ibis Leiden Centre
Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing