We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - across from central station”
Review of Ibis Leiden Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel - across from central station”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel (second time with Ibis) because of it's location (across from the train station and adjacent to the city centre) and great price. Room was larger than the last Ibis Hotel I stayed at - brand new and spotless. Nice view of the city. Only complaint was that the bed was a bit hard. Free wifi. Very friendly staff - was even welcomed with a complimentary drink coupon (because I am a member of their loyalty rewards program).
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    317
    108
    25
    4
See reviews for
106
199
90
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

A great location close to Leiden Centraal Station and a short walk from any of the many attractions in Leiden centrum as well. You won't get the cushy orange pillows shown in their advert materials, but they will quickly and cheerfully bring you an extra pillow or towels when requested. I really missed having an in-room kettle, but the shower was huge and the water hot. The room, although small, was thoughtfully laid out and it worked well. The room was clean and bright. Our view from the top floor on the even-numbered side was of Leiden and we enjoyed it immensely - we could see so many of the historic landmarks as well as spectacular storms when they rolled in. I'd stay there again as well as recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: the even-numbered rooms face the old city center, make sure to ask for a top floor room for a specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The main attraction of this hotel is, as others have mentioned, its location just a few steps from the train station. The room was as I have come to expect from Ibis - compact with basic furniture and few extras, but fresh, bright and spotlessly clean. The room was lacking a kettle and fridge, which I have had in other Ibis hotels. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Skip the €15 breakfast and enjoy the wonderful pastries and coffee from any of the nearby cafes.

Room Tip: Access to the lifts and stairway on the ground floor is through a door that slams shut, so you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishman_in_europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Ibis is a very good choice for traveling by train throughout Europe. They are often near a train station and convenient for walking into town. This brand new Ibis did not disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisajamais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. I was very pleased with the location. You can easily explore the entire city of Leiden on foot. You can easily travel to other cities in Zuid Holland. We came by car and figuring out the parking meters was a bit challenging. I would recommend traveling by train. The rooms were very clean and good size for European standards. The beds were extremely comfortable and the showers had excellent water pressure. The breakfast buffet was excellent but a bit expensive at 15 euros. The only downside of this hotel is the way the bathroom plumbing is designed. Every toilet flush and shower of the adjoining room sounds as if it is inside your own room. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 622Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable--apparently recently refurbished. The hotel is right across from the train station, and so access to public transport was exceptionally easy. The ambiance of the plaza by Leiden Centraal station is not fabulous, but it felt safe enough. This hotel would make a good base for day trips to the surrounding cities (Delft, Den Haag, Haarlem, Amsterdam) as well as seeing Leiden itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlharper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We statyed here two nights. Ideal location for the train station and you can see the hotel from the platform. It is about a four minute walk from there. Centre of town around 5-10 minute walk. We got an even numbered room 306 which faces away from the station and has a view of the town. My in laws had a room on the fifth floor and with a better view. Odd numbers and you will face the station but all the rooms are sound proof believe. The room is comfortable, nothing fancy, good shower but bring your own soap if you do not like liquid soap. Mattress was firm. No hand towels in bathroom.There is no safe in the room but one at reception. Did not try breakfast. Hotel only opened in February so everything is new. For a three star hotel it ticked all the boxes. Oh wi fi was free worked in the room. Would stay again as only 20 odd minutes by train to schiphol.

Room Tip: Go for an even numbered room to face away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel d'Oude Morsch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Leiden Centre

Property: Ibis Leiden Centre
Address: Stationsplein 240-242, 2312 AR, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Leiden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Leiden lies right next to the Central Station and just minutes’ walking from the historical Leiden centre city. It offers modern, compact accommodation with flat-screen cable TV and free Wi-Fi.The contemporary designed rooms have comfortable box-spring beds and a private bathroom with free toiletries. Other amenities include pay TV channels and a work desk.Bar Rendez-Vous offers an extensive breakfast every morning. During the day guests of Ibis Leiden Centre can enjoy a coffee, a drink or a snack here. Leiden’s city centre offers a wide range of restaurants and bars.Schiphol Airport is just 20 minutes away by train from Ibis Leiden Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing