We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have michelin star(s)”
Review of Restaurant Dartel

Restaurant Dartel
Reserve with
Restaurant Dartel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 292 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should have michelin star(s)”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant in a great location in Leiden. It is the best restaurant in Leiden (just ahead of In Den Garpenden Eter). The chef is enthusiastic and explains the menu to you at your table, giving you the choice of 3-7 courses and adjusting the portions accordingly. A different wine is offered with each course. The food is as good as any I've had and is better than many michelin starred restaurants I've eaten in before (e.g. The Square in London). All the food is seasonal and the service is excellent; you can tell that this is a restaurant where the staff know their stuff. Being a student in Leiden, I have been back here three times when my family have visited. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 03thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    31
    6
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant Find!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant was one of the best restaurants that we have been to in Europe. French Style dining with a Dutch flare. Excellent presentation and tremendous quality courses. What an amazing night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimCrypto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western ma
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“best meal in netherlands”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stopped at Dartel for lunch. After we were seated and ordered water we realized that they have a set menu for lunch which did not appeal to us. The chef made us both special lunches which were incredibly delicious. The presentation was camera ready for a food magazine. The service made us feel very special. it was by far the best meal we had in our 10 days in the Netherlands.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hughesnetWesternMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of Leiden's best”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant is an absolute must for all; Leidenaars and visitors, foodies and non-foodies. The location is triple A, right in the heart of the historic center of Leiden only 100 yards from one of the places where Rembrandt used to live. The food is absolutely superb and seems to get even better on every successive visit. Recently an 8-course gastronomic tasting menu was introduced, which is a fabulous gastronomic experience that lasts the entire evening. The food in itself is magnificent, with some courses being magical pieces of art, whereas the portions are very keen: each course is modest yet satisfying, with the whole being the perfect amount for an entire meal! Together with the wonderful wine paring suggested by sommelier Judith van Vliet, this place will not disappoint even the most critical visitor. We are fairly experienced foodies (visiting Michelin-starred restaurants at least 8 times per year) but we will keep coming back to Dartel! Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good, not great”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The service was good, the food was very good, the location is absolutely charming and the decor is lovely. I expected more from the food though. Nothing made me stop and think, "wow!" As I have experienced in other restaurants in Leiden. It was clever, but not delicious. The wine pairings were uninspired. I actually left a third of the cheese course, which I'm not sure I have ever done before, as cheese is my favourite part of most meals. It was just blah. Worst of all, you do not take a reservation for 9PM and start cleaning the restaurant, with staff leaving in a very obvious way, at 10:30. Someone was cleaning the espresso machine not four feet from me as I was eating my cheese course. It was loud. There was steam. And people have commented that this restaurant deserves a Michelin star? No. It does not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BeatrixB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Dartel also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Dartel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing