We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Leiden's best”
Review of Restaurant Dartel

Restaurant Dartel
Reserve with
Restaurant Dartel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 281 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Dutch, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leiden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Leiden's best”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant is an absolute must for all; Leidenaars and visitors, foodies and non-foodies. The location is triple A, right in the heart of the historic center of Leiden only 100 yards from one of the places where Rembrandt used to live. The food is absolutely superb and seems to get even better on every successive visit. Recently an 8-course gastronomic tasting menu was introduced, which is a fabulous gastronomic experience that lasts the entire evening. The food in itself is magnificent, with some courses being magical pieces of art, whereas the portions are very keen: each course is modest yet satisfying, with the whole being the perfect amount for an entire meal! Together with the wonderful wine paring suggested by sommelier Judith van Vliet, this place will not disappoint even the most critical visitor. We are fairly experienced foodies (visiting Michelin-starred restaurants at least 8 times per year) but we will keep coming back to Dartel! Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good, not great”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The service was good, the food was very good, the location is absolutely charming and the decor is lovely. I expected more from the food though. Nothing made me stop and think, "wow!" As I have experienced in other restaurants in Leiden. It was clever, but not delicious. The wine pairings were uninspired. I actually left a third of the cheese course, which I'm not sure I have ever done before, as cheese is my favourite part of most meals. It was just blah. Worst of all, you do not take a reservation for 9PM and start cleaning the restaurant, with staff leaving in a very obvious way, at 10:30. Someone was cleaning the espresso machine not four feet from me as I was eating my cheese course. It was loud. There was steam. And people have commented that this restaurant deserves a Michelin star? No. It does not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BeatrixB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The quality of the cooking is excellent, with finest ingredients. There is little choice, except for the number of courses you want, but the chef is willing to negotiate for vegetarians. He produced veggie options to match the number of courses my companion chose. We opted for the recommended wines to accompany the food, and suitable different wines were produced to go with my veggies. A bit pricey, but not extortionate, and definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fantastic evening”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a fantistic evening with a group of ten friends. Wonderfull place with excellent food. The chef presented the options and we received great service. A place to go back for!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in town!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic food really really great! Fun cuisine just amazing dishes ! This place comes highly recommanded gooooo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Dartel also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Dartel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing