We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koetjes en Kalfjes - CLOSED

Koetjes en Kalfjes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: Koetjes en kalfjes is a restaurant chain and also has restaurants in other dutch cities
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've eated here two times. The first time I eated with my boyfriend for a special night. The second time with my whole family. The service was excellent. The waitres where friendly. The food is delicious and the wine and beer are very very good. From the restaurant we get a prosecco of the house, to start with. The atmosphere is nice. This is a restaurant where you sit your whole night, not for a fast meal. It is a special restaurant for special occasions. Definitely a very good restaurant to go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonvanniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very very good and sublime atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is most recommended by us...very friendly, service close to impeccable. We went to koetjesenkalfjes in the Hague. Evelien was our waitress and did an amazing job!

We started this dinner with an amuse, this was not so special to be honest but the salmon sashimi with wasibi was mouthwatering, the fish (cod) was good and a nice soup in between or a spoom, dessert was something with passion icecream but again very good! We will visit this amazing restaurant again that's for sure!


The only negative point: the portions are not to generous its more like nouveau cuisine...maybe you can take care of this minor issue but furter perfect! Thank you for this wonderful experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wowwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

we were a party of four celebrating a birthday and enjoyed the experience. were given an open styled booth type seating arrangement in a U shape around a table which suited us very well, very comfortable and allowed lots of movement. we pushed the boat out regards drinks and treated ourselves to glasses of bubbly and 2 bottles of wine. the food was good and contrary to other reviewers I found the staff very friendly, helpful and attentive. i would recommend it, good atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, 'gezellig' but too many charges for extras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Nice menu, well designed restaurant in an old building on one of Leiden's shopping streets. If you don't mind paying too much this is not a bad choice. They charge you for bread, fries, baked potato, vegetables - all charged separately. So you think the 20 euro entree is not a bad price, but you forget you have to pay extra for all those things! Also the baked potato we ordered was obviously way too old and gray looking (they took it back, hope we don't get sick tonight). Waitresses were friendly and upbeat but could have been more alert to (gave us 2 small bottles of water even though we'd ordered 1 big one; didn't mention that the 'samping' appetizer inclduded carpaccio when we ordered a separate capraccio.) We enjoyed the meal overall but won't be going back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere but food/service subpar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I would recommend this spot for drinks and appetizers, but not for a nice meal out. The relatively high prices do not match the quality of the food. For a cow-themed place (the name means "cows and calves," and refers to "small talk," I was told), the beef was not very good. Our appetizer and dessert were decent but unmemorable. The decor was fun and the clientele seemed fairly trendy. Our hotel (related to the restaurant) called ahead for us and we were given a good able by the window, which we appreciated. It's also in a great location on the Breestraat near some small canals.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koetjes en Kalfjes also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing