We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
The living room with veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances
The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Upon arrival you will find an extensive Dutch breakfast waiting for you
The fridge contains ham and eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt and orange juice
If you want to do your own cooking, there are some basic ingredients available
Pride of Leyden is located in a quiet residential street
A view from the veranda
A view from the drawbridge near Pride of Leyden
Leiden's Galgewater with historical ships
Morspoort, one of Leiden's two remaining city gates
Bulb fields in the spring
A typical Dutch polder landscape, great for cycling through
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leiden, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ellador
Paris, France
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent ten days in Leiden on the houseboat, which is perfectly situated not far from the town centre on a quiet canal. Not only is Leiden a magnificent town, full of wonderful surprises on every street corner (poems on the walls, lovely gardens, gorgeous seventeenth century houses) which we loved exploring on rented bikes, but it is also very easy and quick to take the train (the boat is a fifteen minute bike ride to the station) and visit Amsterdam, Delft, Gouda, Rotterdam or The Hague.
Jacqueline's welcome was excellent (the directions to the boat from the bus stop could just have been a little clearer, for those absent-minded enough not to notice the fast food outlet on the other side of the road!), the delicious Dutch "breakfast" actually fed us for days on end and the limitless coffee supply was a valued bonus. All the appliances worked perfecty. Particularly appreciated were the thoughtful stocks of shampoo, conditioner, razors, clothes, lenses product etc.
All in all, we wholeheartedly recommend this rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the Dutch breakfast!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaDiGra
Alpine, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to explore from”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We enjoyed our mini vacation on the Pride of Leyden. Leiden is a small city, and like the rest of the Netherlands, open and friendly. We would recommend the houseboat to anyone who is flexible, and can overlook a bit of dust. We unfortunately caught Jacqueline off guard, as she was in the middle of doing her taxes and had forgotten our arrival date, so we can't report as the other reviewers that everything was spotless. Bicyclists and moped drivers use the drawbridge and the street regularly. There was a bit of boat traffic on the weekend, but we think there was a city festival going on. Parking is on the street just around the corner from the boat. The city is within walking distance, but taking the car in and parking was also not difficult. We enjoyed the botanical garden, and the short drive to the North Sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaeBugs
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent a lovely 3 days and felt very welcome by our hostess Jacqueline. The Dutch breakfast included fed us very well, and the Senseo coffee machine was heavan. The houseboat was spotless, and it was well-suited for a family of four (and a fifth that we squeezed in for 2 nights). The king-size bed was very comfortable and the other room easily fit 2 single beds (not sure why it is advertised for only 3 people). The rooms are well separated from the living and dining area, hence put the kids to bed and enjoy a quiet glass of wine. The location is quiet and has a lovely outlook, and easy walking distance to the centre of town including the Saturday market not to be missed,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AriLi
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy staying at pride of Leyden”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a great staying in this house boat. The owner is very kind and respectfull. Everyrthing you need for cooking and everyday life is found there. The house is extremly functional. I will highly recommend it while staying in Leiden and looking for a private, fucntional and charming place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: I do not know
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie H
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be sure to ask about the washer if that matters to you.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We selected this property because the listing said there was a washer; my friend and I often look for something with a washer half-way through our trip so we can wash our clothes for the second half of the trip. When we arrived, we were told that the washer wasn't working. So we had to wash things by hand and "blot" them on the spare towels, which the owner took away to dry but never brought them back, so we had no spare towels.
Another unpleasant experience was finding some old food in a dish in the microwave, which was from someone before us. My friend had thought the place always smelled a little bit bad when we came in. I can understand how that could be missed, but it was a really disgusting discovery.
There were some nice touches in the houseboat, and it's a fun idea to stay in a houseboat; but overall we were not impressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idea of being in a houseboat.
Liked least: A non-functioning washer.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondON2
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I had three lovely days at Pride of Leyden, and it's a lovely way to stay.

The houseboat has everything you need - towels, toiletries, adaptors, a Senseo coffee machine, TV and fast WiFi.

The houseboat is located on a quiet canal just outside the centre, but it was an easy walk and the even closer to a bus stop for frequent services into the town centre.

The houseboat also features a walk in shower and a terrace at the back, where you can sit and enjoy a drink of feed the ducks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt relaxed instantly
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasted
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alround nice, but ...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a house on the water, rather than a boat, as you can see from the photographs.

On the plus side -
It was surprisingly spacious, a great view onto a typical Van Gogh bridge, very peaceful with only bikes and boats going by as you sit on the little terrace eating. Leiden's has beautiful cafés & shops, about 15 mins walk from the boat. The owner supplied breakfast on the first day, but there was a lot of standard stuff already in the kitchen cupboards from previous tenants.
There were also vast numbers of towels available.

On the minus side -
the washing machine didn't work as the owner said she was unable to find out how to clean out the filter ... disappointing and not a very good excuse.

Though the bedroom is of a good size the enormous, very high bed is set into a recess, leaving no space on the side, so that one has to crawl onto it from the foot end, as if it was a kids play corner. That would be a bit of a challenge for an older person. It also makes it tricky to make the bed properly. A better solution would be a narrower bed which leaves just enough space to be accessed from both sides.

In the shower room the fittings and the tiling really have seen better days. Even a really good clean of the wall tiles and the fixing of broken handles etc. would be a great improvement.

Though the kitchen was ok. the cooker was not clean, the controls were sticky with grease and needed a really good clean, so much so that I didn't really want to touch them. I left a note to that effect, as my personal view is that if you charge customers to stay in your property, everything should be absolutely clean, even if the equipment is not new.
Though Jacqueline the owner was charming and gave very helpful instructions and information about everything, she needs to fix these problems.
So if you can overlook the above comments re: cleanliness, I would still recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Liked least: lack of cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your criticism of the stove is entirely justified and I offer my unreserved apologies.

Re the bed, one has to make allowances for the fact that this is a houseboat, where space is at a premium. I did ask my guests whether they preferred a wider bed or easier access. On the whole the wider bed got the most votes. Furthermore, there is a recess on one side which allows for slightly easier access for the person on the left.

I had someone in to check the washing machine. As it turns out there was nothing wrong with the filter. Since the cost of trying to find the fault wasn’t justified, I have replaced the machine. I’m very sorry that this happened just when you were counting on using the machine.

The bathroom is given a thorough cleaning with every new guest. I have tried to bleach the grout to give it a whiter appearance, but it stays a greyish colour. This is not dirt or grime, however, and I’m certain the bathroom will pass any bacteriological test.

On the whole I’m grateful for your comments as they help me provide a better service to my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing