We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Kid-Friendly”
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leiden
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with 2 kids. While we were out and about, there is plenty to do at the hotel for children. The pool isn't the only attraction...table tennis, pool, and play areas for kids as well. The buffets are child friendly as well. The place is undergoing a lot of renovation, so if I'm ever able to come back I'm sure the place will be even nicer. As other reviewers mentioned, it can be a bit noisy down some corridors; stark temperature differences leaving rooms then going out into a hallway, etc. The hotel shuttle does not run to Leiden Centraal station on weekends (the hotel does advertise this fact on their website, and we were aware of this before coming). If you don't walk, a taxi will range 9-11 Euro one way.

I felt the dinner buffet was a bit overpriced (about 30 Euro per person), but the food was good, and kids eat free, which helps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for being our guest and taking the time to express your nice experience. We know guests have many choices of accommodation. It is always nice to be informed that our hotel was your first choice. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
I passed your friendly comments to our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Ronald Reichert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 672 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with kids and what we liked most about the hotel is that it is not a baby hotel but for kids of all ages. The swimming pool is big to splash around, there are two proper tabletennis tables and a snooker table as well. There is also a dedicated playroom with the usual colour ball pool but some playstations are also there for the older kids. All these are located within the restaurant so this is quite comfortable if your kids are full of energy but you still want to enjoy a quiet meal. Many of the rooms are facing this central restaurant and activity center and kids are very noisy (+running up and down on the corridors facing the restaurant). So beware of this when booking, but you can ask for a quiet room which are located at the back of building facing the parking areas. The disadvantage of these rooms is that there is somehow lots of smell (fried food?) on the corridor during the evenings. Also these corridors are not heated so there is a good temperature difference between inside and outside the room.

Breakfast is superb but it is not only because of the vast choice but because of the excellent staff there. They are super nice and very effective.

The room and the hotel in general, was very clean. The 4 of us slept very comfortably in the room, it is of good size and well proportioned. There is a flat tv with all the choices you can imagine. Films on the Dutch tv is not dubbed so you can watch those as well. I would only add one of the Rai channels for Italian. TV programme is also on your desk.

Wifi is free if you just check your mails and surf on the net but you can't upload/download. Also, there is a cable connection available.

We tried the in-house pizza ordering one night. They offer free pizza delivery to your room all day along at a very reasonable price (eur 9). However, the quality of the pizza is mediocre (frozen?),you can now find really good quality, oven pre-baked pizzas as well so I did not understand why the hotel went for this average quality. The delivery was excellent again,though, quick and proper.

The hotel is located close to one of the motorways but quite off the city. Walking to the centre is a good 20 mins. The shuttle bus timetable is designed for business travellers, so you can go in in the morning and come back in the evening. We used it on two occasions, coming back from the centre. The lady who is driving is again very nice and she does keep the exact timetable. The shuttle stops outside the railway station, on your right if you come out from the station, just after the bus stops. Use the exit that leads to Naturalis/Medical university.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malacomvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I forwarded your comments to all employees.
It is always nice to receive a compliment and I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
Your pizza comment will be discussed with our head chef asap.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon.
Kindest personal regards,
Ronald Reichert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked in January on the web for a 5 night 2 room stay at a cost of 968 euro. No I had to cancell Feb 10. I've asked for the money back and they say, Sorry no cancellation policy. Then didn't show that at time of booking. So beware!!. The Hotel it's self is very nice. My warning is booking.

Room Tip: Beware of booking online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ettenom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear guest, you probably booked an advanced prepurchased rate. There are strict rules for these low rates with strict cancallation policies, the cancellation policies are shown very clearly on the site when making the booking. During the reservation process the cancellation policies are shown. This system is used by almost all hotels worldwide (similar when booking a flight). Please note one can book rooms with less strict cancellation policies, the room rate will be a bit higher though.
We trust we explained this matter clearly, but if you have any further questions concerning this matter, please feel free to contact us. Kindest regards, Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night break at this hotel with our family and booked a family room for two nights, including breakfast for just under 100 Euro. We considered it good value for money. Staff is friendly and very attentive. Room was a good size, we enjoyed a family buffet during one of the evening, which was tasty, fresh and plenty of choice. The same applies for breakfast buffet. Children enjoyed children's area in corner of restaurant area and we enjoyed the indoor pool and sauna. We can advise people to bring along their own bathrobes and slippers. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cl0verfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I forwarded your comments to all employees.
It is always nice to receive a compliment and I’m glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon.
Kindest personal regards,
Ronald Reichert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was surprisingly large in side, it almost felt like a village with apartments, plants and so on. However this was a short stay but it was very pleasant. They had a really nice swimming pool which is rare these days. Room was big and clean. Breakfast was really nice, lots to choose from and everything felt really fresh. The bar/restaurant served excellent food. Overall quite happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hege_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I forwarded your comments to all employees.
It is always nice to receive such compliments and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon.
Kindest personal regards,
Ronald Reichert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was here for a business trip.I booked online,then by reception bought internet connection, and had really nice time.The rooms are clean,the breakfast is very delicious, stuff is friendly and..and I recommend it for everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulpanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I forwarded your comments to all employees.
It is always nice to receive a compliment and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon.
Kindest personal regards,
Ronald Reichert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night, there was no wait at check in or check out, everything went smooth. Very good price - quality. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable.
The restaurant is decorated as a tropical jungle and makes it feel like a holiday, kids-friendly.
We had the breakfast as well and would recommend it to anyone. Lot's of choice and very tasty.
Easy parking. Only point is that it's about 25 mins walk to the center of Leiden. But no big deal for us.

Room Tip: if you're backpacking on a budget you can stay with 4 grown ups in a room with 2 double beds com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seilennag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words, I forwarded your comments to all employees.
It is always nice to receive a compliment about our rooms, the food, etc,. and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden soon.
Kindest personal regards,
Ronald Reichert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#4 of 17 in Leiden
673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden Oegstgeest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range: $86 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located at the edge of the city Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and 12 museums ( Corpus, De Lakenhal, Naturalis etc.). Centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and the business disctrict of Leiden Bio Science Park. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar and meeting facilities and a large parking area. For the necessary relaxation our Fitness center, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note the entire hotel is non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds (135 x 200 cm) and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing