We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice business hotel”
Review of Holiday Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leiden
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Holiday Inn, Leiden and was very well received by staff. I had booked a Executive Room and that was a really good choice. Clean and open with all the needs you could have when staying for a short stop.
Breakfast was excellent (remember to book that in advance as breakfast in The Netherlands tend to be expensive when ordered when arriving) with possibility to read international newspapers.
I checked in late (around 22:00), but the bar was still fairly packed with people, but as I came the staff was absolutely super and cannot be praised enough. All in all a very nice stay and besides the hotel being placed a little far from the center it is very recommendable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Room and if not possible please ask for a room not facing the parking area...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive comments concerning your stay with us.
It is always nice to receive a compliment, we forwarded your kind words to all our employees.
Again, thank you.
We look forward to welcoking you soon back to our hotel in Leiden!
Kind regards,
Ronald Reichert, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Leiden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 659 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent 4 days 5 nights, 2 families with grown kids (youngest 10 yrs) and we enjoyed it very much. Very good location. Price was fair. Breakfast was very good. Rooms are large and comfortable. Easy access to parking. Activities for kids (including small pool).
Pay attention to a traffic camera just before the traffic light across the street - Max speed is 50 kmh (got a ticket on 54 kmh...)

Room Tip: Get a room on the outer ring (facing parking area) - Much more quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17James_B17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your review.

We always appreciate feed back from our guests. This enables us to improve our product.
We assure you that your comments will be forwarded to all our employees.
Sorry for the ticket you received, but we do thank you for taking the time to inform us of your positive comments..
We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Ronald Reichert
General Manager Holiday Inn Leiden, The Netherlands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here once becuase everything else was full.
It has great parking facilities. Now that the positives are out of the way, on to the negatioves.
The bar is over priced, it has all the charm of an airport lounge and if you are lucky enough they stick you in a room next to the courtyard where they start a childrens activity thing early in the morning. The one who shouts the loudest gets a price, and its right outside your room.
Upon requiring at reception I was informed I should have requested a room away from the kids area. How am I supposed to know?!
And while I am at it, they must have the slowest revolving door in the world.
Stay at the Rembrandt, not here.

Room Tip: Not on the courtyard, on the outside at the rear.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowerfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnLeiden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We always appreciate feed back from our guests. This enables us to improve our product.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience your stay with us may have caused.
We assure you that your comments (including your positive words about the parking!) will be discussed with the departments involved and we’ll certainly do our utmost to eliminate the noise comments.
Thank you for taking the time to inform us.
We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Ronald Reichert
General Manager Holiday Inn Leiden, The Netherlands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall, I thought that this was a good hotel to stay at with a few limitations to consider.
Getting to the hotel takes a 30 min train ride from Schipol to Leiden Central Station, and the hotel has a free shuttle service to and from the station, however, i thought that the hours were odd with large gaps in service. I arrived very early not expecting any availability, but the receptionist was extremely nice, she called in housekeeping early to clean the rooms that were available, I waited no more than 45 mins. Relying on public transportation to get to downtown Leiden was a challenge. One could take the hotel shuttle to the station and it is a short walk to the central shopping area. Meals are a challenge, the hotel only offers buffets for breakfast and dinner which I thought were overpriced. The bar has a limited a la carte menu. This is a non-smoking hotel, on my last day there were guest smoking outside my room the duty manager was VERY prompt in getting them to stop.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the garden center.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good hotel at very convenient location. Breakfast buffet is great. Reception personnel very friendly. Free internet access in the room, and free Wifi in public area's. The swimming pool is small, so OK for kids to play, not really good for swimming

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 941paulrijks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Leiden can be reached in 20 minutes from Amsterdam Schiphol airport and the hotel is a 10 minute taxi ride from the station. Apparently one of the earliest European Holiday Inns it is set out over only three floors more like a motel with rooms directly onto the car park. The hotel is really spacious with a large indoor poor, gym, tennis courts and lots and lots of childrens area making it a great place for the family. There is a good resteraunt and cosy bar that will keep the parents entertained and the staff are very helpful with local advice. The beach is about 20 minutes away (Noordwijk) and the hotel is well situated for daytrips to Amsterdam or The Hague. It is an out-of-town location so you need a taxi or catch the bus into Leiden which is also well worth a visit

Room Tip: Choose outward facing rooms as there are less people walking past your room especially on the ground...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Firstly, you really need a car to stay here. We thought we could manage on public transport, but I wouldn't recommend it.
There are various features which make this a very attractive hotel for young children.
Re rooms, would not recommend rooms overlooking the inner restaurant courtyard, because of lack of natural light and privacy, particularly on ground floor. There are better rooms to be had at the back overlooking trees and a canal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivienJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leiden
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
6.1 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leiden

Address: Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leiden
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range: $112 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Leiden is located at the edge of the city Leiden which is best known as Rembrandt's birthplace. Famous for her cobbled streets, beautiful canals, Pilgrim fathers and 12 museums ( Corpus, De Lakenhal, Naturalis etc.). Centrally located between Amsterdam and The Hague, near North sea beaches, Leiden University and the business disctrict of Leiden Bio Science Park. Holiday Inn Leiden offers 200 comfortable Superior, King- and Executive hotel rooms with air conditioning, a variety of leisure facilities, a stylish Garden restaurant, Ocean bar and meeting facilities and a large parking area. For the necessary relaxation our Fitness center, indoor swimming pool with sauna, kids play area and bike rental are at hand on our own property. Please note the entire hotel is non smoking. Our comfortable standard rooms are provided with 2 double beds (135 x 200 cm) and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. King rooms and Executive rooms (max. 2 persons) are also available. We guarantee a successful meeting in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All meeting rooms are provided with air conditioning, wireless high speed internet and comfortable seats. All technical equipment upon request. Thanks to the combination of all these ingredients, Holiday Inn Leiden can provide lively and stylish accommodation for you in the heart of the Randstad conurbation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leiden Hotel Leiden
Leiden Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing