We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accomodation, very handy for train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
LACEBY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable accomodation, very handy for train station”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Arrived in Lieden cold and wet from 8 hours cycling in rain. Found this hotel which proved to be a haven for us. Rooms of decent size, good standard, very clean and comfortable. Ended up looking like a chinese laudry with cycle gear..but never mind.
Would recommend. Very short walk to train station, not near many restaurants but found a mexican just round corner. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amanjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    177
    83
    21
    7
See reviews for
37
130
22
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The location is very good. It is opposite the station and within walking distance of all the main attractions in the town center. If you want a hotel in the town center it is really the only option, unless you are prepared to stay in something very small with few facilities.

The hotel however could do with major renovation. The rooms are old fashioned and shabby as are the corridors leading to them. Can't comment on the restaurant as I didn't eat there, but there are lots of reasonable restaurants a short walk away. The breakfast selection I thought was below average for a hotel in this price catagory.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

this is such a shame as the location is great, right across the road from the train station. the evening restaurant staff were really friendly and the food was lovely. all seemed great until a mouse ran across the floor of the restaurant. when my husband spoke to the waiter he shrugged his shoulders and said, 'what can we do'!!! the day staff also seem much less friendly, and we ended up leaving a day early as we kept seeing the mouse everywhere downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegemUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Nothing wrong with the hotel. Good breakfast.
It was a little bit noisy from the traffic outside, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Booked at the website of Golden Tulip, nothing mentioned about breakfast , so we thought it was included in the price, which gave me a an expensive surprise at check out (16 euro per person extra). And the breakfast was not very good either, orange juice extended with water etcera, eggs weren't great either.
We asked for a quiet room, but we got a room at the front of the hotel at a busy street (because they were fully booked). it was an upgrade though to a business suite, which was comfortable large.
Personal is not very bright- they didn't tell us which elevator to use and that this elevator did not took us all they way up (we had to take the stairs for one level). So we had to go back to the reception two times.
The only good thing is the location, very near the station. But this is not enough to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

While I disagree with the more extreme negative reviews posted here, I would describe it as somewhat below average for a business-class hotel. Though the hotel's website claims it was renovated in 2008, I see no sign of that (nor of the WiFi that the website also says it has).

My biggest complaint is darkness. I have never, ever, ever, seen such dim lighting in a hotel room! Once the sun goes down (or the Dutch fog rolls in) there is barely enough light to read by, and definitely not enough light to work. The lamps are nailed to the desk and night tables (!), so you can't even move them close to you. The breakfast room is just as dark. Absent are the usual businessmen reading the morning paper, because there is just not enough light in the room (today was cloudy) to do so. I guess the idea is to save money or save the planet, but this is going too far.

My second biggest complaint is the surcharge for Internet. Though the promised WiFi is missing, there is an ethernet connection in the room -- for which the charge is an astonishing €22/day (7 days for €88). Many hotels offer this service *free* for guests (including the Golden Tulip Rotterdam, according to its website), and where I've had to pay elsewhere, it's rarely been above €10/day. The fees charged here are simply extortionate.

The rooms are clean enough (insofar as the ambient gloom permits me to see what's in them), but they and the public spaces look more than a bit battered. (The elevator looks like its been through a war, and shudders frighteningly on arriving at your floor. Note: this is not a charming ancient elevator, but your basic 20th century hotel elevator. It needs fixing.)

Like others here, I'm slightly surprised that the room comes with two single beds pushed together, but this wasn't a problem for me. Unlike some others writing here, I have found the staff to be entirely pleasant and helpful. No complaints on that front. And the breakfast, while uninspired, was just your typical European hotel breakfast, no better but no worse than elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akademik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Leiden Centre
Ibis Leiden Centre
#3 of 16 in Leiden
635 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
914 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
Tulip Inn Leiden Centre
#12 of 16 in Leiden
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Resort Hotel Leiden
1.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leiden
Holiday Inn Leiden
#7 of 16 in Leiden
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Leiden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Leiden Centre

Property: Golden Tulip Leiden Centre
Address: Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leiden
#4 Business Hotel in Leiden
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Leiden Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is located next to the Tulip Inn Leiden Centre. With Leiden Central Station directly opposite the hotel and many freeways within easy reach, Golden Tulip Leiden Centre is ideally situated. The hotel has an ideal location in a beautiful historical city, full of museums and picturesque vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Leiden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Leiden
Leiden Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing