We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service”
Review of Fratelli

Fratelli
Reserve with
Fratelli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 292 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We hadn't made a reservation, but were swiftly seen to a large table at the back of the restaurant, where I had a great view of the kitchen that was run in a very tranquil manner. Within minutes, we were toasting each other's health with a nice prosecco. Shortly after we were presented with a basket of breads: plain and olive, accompanied by a tasty tomato and bell pepper tapenade. As primo, we decided on the salad of roasted bell pepper, zucchini, rocket, and a real find, Tomino cheese... Absolutely lovely creamy yet unpasteurized flavor. My wife was quite happy with her dorade and shrimp; I really liked my filetto Rossini, even if it can't be very healthy! Our dolce: tiramisù, and lemon ice cream with prosecco and passion fruit. Also good, strong espresso and a heady grappa. Being offered a limoncello after the meal felt like being in Italy! Service was pleasant throughout.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FokkeDeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    82
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our son is studying in Leiden and we went over there to have dinner with him.
I found this restaurant through Tripadvisor and made a reservation, and I am glad I did. We had a great dinner here. The food was excellent and so was the service. The waiter was very friendly and helpful but not overdoing it. We didn't choose the menu which looked great as well but ate a la carte.
The starters were very good. Some really creative. Everything was fresh and very tasty. For main course all three of us had the Filetto a la Rossini, this was really fabulous . The house wine we took was also good. Only one of us had room for dessert but the waiter was so attentive to bring three spoons anyway and on top of it all he brought us delicious limoncello to go with our coffee!
I will definitely go back here!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelien69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Helpful chef who made a meal that my son liked!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Probably need to have more choice but the food was fab! Waiter very accommodating. Would definitely go again but maybe without kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Expect a loooong, leisurely dinner”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The food was really pretty good, the ambiance was nice, and the servers were quite friendly, but this was all mostly overshadowed by the incredible amount of time we waited around with no food throughout the evening.

When we arrived they took our drink orders and eventually our dinner orders, but we sat there for exactly an hour before we were given any food at all, even bread. We were starving by the time our four pieces of bread arrived and inhaled them - and we were not brought any more after that. We had almost equally long waits between each course. I enjoy a leisurely dinner, but this was excessive.

I might go back, but I would eat something first next time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaitlinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great straight forward quality Italian”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

In the heart of Leiden's shopping area. A small cozy Italian with excellent food. Not too much, not too little. The Service is excellent. I have been there about 5 times now, and have been served by different waiters almost each time. Nevertheless, the quality of the service was excellent each time. The food is really good and the menu changes slightly by season. I can recommend the Valpolicella wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tirso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fratelli also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Fratelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing