We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service and food”
Review of Bar&Bas - CLOSED

Bar&Bas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: International, Gastropub, European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding service and food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to visit and experience Dutch hospitality.
And worth its price.
Even the place is small it's very nice and the food is wonderful.
The service is remarkable and the friendly waiter was very helpful
in explaining the dishes on the menu.
A exceptional and delicious food experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LA_Laldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great all-round experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What looks like a small restaurant from the outside, in this case, stays a small restaurant on the inside but that is not a complaint! Lundi might be small but it more than makes up for it with an interesting menu that is well cooked and presented. The chef's menu proved a hit but so did the a la carte options and the realistically priced red and white wine (sub €30) (Pacherenc du Vic Bilh Sec and Sangiovese en Corvinia) were both excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tt1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a great dinner here, and the owner waited on us. He was very friendly and very helpful with the menu. I actually had two different appetizers for my meal, and my husband had a rabbit dish for his. We enjoyed it very much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanzdietschweiler, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Bill”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful dining experience in Leiden, Holland! Made a reservation there while visiting with my wife, young boys and inlaws based on the Trip Advisor rating. The food was fantastic, but the service is what really impressed me. The restaurant owner, Bas, visited the table many times, giving detailed descriptions of the dishes they served, and recommending several outstanding wines.The staff were attentive to my boys and pleasant during the whole experience. If you want an outstanding meal, an incredibly diverse wine selection, and friendly service, try Lundi. It is a bit pricy, but worth it for a special occasion or just a great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little gem in Leiden”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here a fortnight ago. Staff was low due to illness, but the owner managed to keep everything in perfect order in this small restaurant. Location is nice, close to the train station, overlooking a central canal. We stuck to a daily menu, which was surprisingly good. A bit salty but otherwise packed with flavor providing the occasional wow-factor. Atmosphere in the restaurant is great and the served one of the best espresso macchiato's. excellent value for money! I will definitely go back there.

Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar&Bas also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing