We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY RELAXED STAY”
Review of Salomon's Room

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leiden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salomon's Room
Ranked #5 of 15 Leiden B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely central location with a very kind owner (Griet) who even tried to find someone to lend me a power supply for my macbook before I arrived as I had left mine behind - how kind is that! Spacious accommodation and wonderful breakfast especially the raspberry yoghurt and muesli. I heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palms D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Various members of my family have stayed at this wonderful b&b over the past few years. I live in Leiden but don't have enough room to put up guests, and this is a perfect solution. Griet is a generous and incredibly friendly and welcoming hostess, and she does everything she can to make guests feel comfortable. The apartment is wonderfully large, and in a super location right in the center of Leiden close to the university. I would not want a better location for my guests! She serves a delicious breakfast every morning in her own house. She enjoys getting to know new people and is a world traveler and lover of art and music. My mom loved talking to her and spent an hour or so every morning at breakfast, but if you prefer to have a more private breakfast then she will of course adapt to that. I almost would rather not share this address but know it is good for Griet's business to have more guests! I can't say enough good things about Griet & Wim and their lovely Solomon's room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Salomon's Room is a too good a secret to keep to myself. I looked on Trip Advisor for a place to stay in Leiden, where I recently spent 4 days visiting my daughter at the University. This is not your typical B & B, nor your typical cramped Dutch accommodations. Salomon's room is really the entire 3rd floor of Griet and Wim's home. Private entrance, comfortable double bed, shower in the bathroom and a large living room with comfy chairs and loads of books, a DVD player, a breakfast table and chairs. And of course the delicious breakfast served by Griet. They were so accommodating, even giving me a lift to the station in their own car the day I left; and the room felt like home-only better! Books, art, tasteful touches made this a home-away-from-home. The location is excellent too-easy to walk everywhere. Stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HE_Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I recently spent a truly magical week at the Salomon's Room Bed & Breakfast. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and bathed in warmth, grace and hospitality of the proprietor, Griet Alma Devos. Surrounded by a marvelous collection of books, art, and loving memories, I found myself continually at peace during my stay. The Bed & Breakfast itself is located conveniently within steps of a marvelous assortment of local shops and restaurants, and is within easy access to the intercity train. Most of all, though, the breakfasts provided each day by Ms. Devos were so completely wonderful as to set a tone of inspired serenity that lasted throughout the day. The marvelous selection of local delicacies provided by Ms. Devos were served to the accompaniment of soft music, candle light, and the delightful attentiveness of Ms. Devos herself. This was unquestionably the best Bed & Breakfast experience I have ever had, and will gladly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoiattolo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ele c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolfgang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiden hotels
0.2 mi away
Steenhof Suites
Steenhof Suites
#2 of 15 in Leiden
48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Het Vogelhuis
Het Vogelhuis
#1 of 15 in Leiden
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
Rembrandt Hotel Leiden
#6 of 15 in Leiden
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Bed en Beschuit
B&B Bed en Beschuit
#7 of 15 in Leiden
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western City Hotel Leiden
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salomon's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salomon's Room

Address: Herensteeg 21, 2311 SH, Leiden, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Leiden
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic heart of Leiden, Salomon’s Room offers a friendly and warm gateway to the Netherlands and Leiden itself. The accomodation is equipped with a spacious living room, a bathroom and a kitchen with all the basic cooking utensils like a coffee machine and microwave. Wifi is available, but if you rather read a book ; a wide array of them is available. “The building is right in the heart of historic Leiden, making it very easy to explore Leiden's key attractions (Leidse Loper, Hortus Botanicus, Farmer's Market, Rijksmuseum van de Oudheden, Pieterskerk, the Almshouses/Hofjes etc). Finding bites to eat is also very easy, due to the centrality of the location.” Be advised that the minimum staying period is 5 nights. Deviating from this is not possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing