We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for atmosphere”

Bootjes en Broodjes
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The place for - canal tours, - boat rental and - private tours. We offer comfortable and sustainable tours over the lovely canals of Leiden. You can also explore the beautiful lake area, Kagerplassen, close to Leiden.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for atmosphere”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Just a great way to feel Leiden! Small open boat here is much better than a big one that is usually used for cruises! Don't miss this experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank DmitryPerets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely way of getting around Leiden”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I took a boat trip around Leiden with this company and had a lovely hour long trip. The guide, a young student was very pleasant. As we were the only English speakers on the trip, he had us sit near him and gave us our own personal commentary. The canals he took us on were picturesque and we were able to see many interesting buildings/places linked to the town's long history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tartan-Chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The Best Tour!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

There are a number of canal tour options in Leiden, ranging from water taxis to fancy restaurant floating dinners, but you won't find a more friendly and flexible operation than Bootjes en Broodjes. They use very small electric boats, which give the tours a much quieter and more intimate feeling. Also, they can go under bridges that are too low for the larger boats. Sometimes you really had to duck! We liked the tour so much that we took it twice, both times with excellent guides. They go up and down almost every canal in Leiden and have an excellent sense of tour direction.

The boats are so quiet and simple that you can rent one by the hour with no training at all, and do your own tour. They also sell decent drinks, including wine and beer, to take with you, and will arrange for simple catering on advance request.

A quality experience, and really the essential way to see Leiden. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank atravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We took a self-drive electric boat for a two hour rental, and it was just the perfect way to see Leiden! The rental process was simple (deposit and proof of ID) and the safety and familiarisation explanation was good. Then off we went, following two circular tours marked on a map of the town's canals. On a sunny day, with none of the street-level bicycle dodging, it was quite magnificent... next time we will bring a picnic! The return of the boat was straightforward and deposit was handed back without question. Recommend this without hesitation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JamJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Boat tour was a great way to see the city”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I only had a short time in Leiden, and the boat tour of this company was the one with a convenient departure, so I took it. It was wonderful, and the best way to see the city in a short period of time, and from a good vantage point.

The smaller boat allowed us to go into the smaller canals and under low bridges to view the beauty of the city, and the smaller group (5 in ours) allowed the skipper to answer our questions and tell stories in two languages, for our bilingual group (Dutch and English).

The staff and the skipper were friendly, and I would recommend this tour to others visiting Leiden.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank sputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bootjes en Broodjes also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Bootjes en Broodjes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing