We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crabbetje

Crabbetje
Ranked #7 of 277 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited 't Crabbetje last Friday and had a wonderful time. We booked our table for 730pm and were greeted at the door and brought to our table. We decided to the the 3 courses chefs menu, but asked to swap the grand dessert for a cheese plate, which was done with a smile and without any problems. The food was great, the atmosphere very friendly and the owner asked us several times if everything was according to our expectations. I like the fact that they give you as much tap water as you like (which is no longer the standard in the NL it seems) and when we asked for a glass of port with our cheese, we got to taste different kinds and could choose the one we liked best. It is a great night out, no rush, very relaxed and good food! We will come back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal_Verbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The food was wonderful. We had the three-course chef's tasting menu and the food was more than enough. Service was friendly and helpful. The interior is lovely and cosy. Can certainly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Ilse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice fish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Nice fish restaurant, very creative dishes and attentive service, way above the average of the Dutch restaurants.. Cosy atmosphere. Only downside is that is a bit overpriced for what it is...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place for fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I have been there twice, I have found very good fish in a quite elaborated stylish dishes. Quality and tastes mixing traditional and nouvelle cousine, in a nice atmosphere. Considering the narrow choice of the neighbours, a place definetly worth to try.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FFelixxs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Leiden isn't exactly packed with quality dining, which is why this place is such a gem in the rough. Hidden away in an alley 5 minutes from the central station not far from the windmill, its a bit pricey but worth it. Food is fresh and lovely. Oysters were excellent. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dude112_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabbetje also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to Crabbetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing