We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience UNESCO World Heritage Kinderdijk
from $171.73
More Info
from $12.68
More Info
from $749.17
More Info
Reviews (2,623)
Filter reviews
2,623 results
Traveler rating
1,735
742
127
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,735
742
127
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride water management rent a bike working windmill gift shop below sea level beautiful windmills hop on hop wind mills living quarters sunny day viking river cruise dutch windmills on site entrance fee windmill museum open to the public
Filter
Updating list...
1,108 - 1,113 of 2,623 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I visited Kinderdijk on 06-07-2014 with 2 indian colleagues and 2 dutch colleagues who were kind to make time for us on a sunday. The place is scenic and it was my first experieence at watching so many old windmills together.Also learnt about its history and their purpouse. The kinderdijk at the lower level will pump out the water to higher level which will in-turn be pumped out to a higher level by another windmill.This continues until the water is drained from the areas to the nearby river.Hence the land is not swamped.We also took the boat ride which travels along the waterways close to each of the windmill. One must take this boat ride to get some very good pictures of the windmills from close range.Visitors could also choose to bike on the road inside.It was a memorable experience at Kinderdijk and a day well spent.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank AkshayShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Delft from Belgium. Definitely worth a visit and photo opportunity. LOTS of tourists of all nationalities arrive here by bus and boat so be prepared for hoards of people. The walking path is a nice meander through the fields, and along the canal.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank NotALostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We biked here from Rotterdam Central and caught a water taxi from Ridderkerk, Veer De Schans to finally reach Kinderdijk. Little bit of a haul (its about 15k from the station to the mills) but well worth it once you get there! The scenery/ride on the way there is nice and if you don't feel like biking back just take the water taxi all the way back to Rotterdam city center.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Took a water taxi from outside the Maritime Hotel. Hired bicycles once we got to Kinderdijk and what a great outing. Took our own food for a picnic which I would again recommend this option to anyone visiting. Going through the small village we didn't see a small shop to buy snack food, so rather get in Rotterdam. Just make sure you get back to the taxi by 5pm as this is the last trip back to Rotterdam!

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hi, we were in Rotterdam and decided to visit the Kinderdijk.
So we took the waterbus, this leaves from its dock just to the right of Erasmus bridge( coming from city centre) or directly opposite the Ms Rotterdam cruise ship dock, cost was 9.60Euro.
This bus ticket included a tear off for the Kinderdijk water shuttle and also a tear off stubb for entry into the windmill museum.
If after your visit you still hasve energy and time you can use the the same ticket to travel further up the river to the city of Dortreght, for a visit to the Noah's ark replica.
All in all a wonderfull day trip at very little cost.

Date of experience: June 2014
Thank BillvanRiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews