We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”

UNESCO World Heritage Kinderdijk
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.00*
and up
Small Group Tour to UNESCO World Heritage Kinderdijk and The Hague including...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Kinderdijk UNESCO World Heritage site is a unique icon of Dutch water management and control. All the phases of the history of our struggle against water are still visible here. The unique collection of 19 mills in an authentic Dutch landscape is an eye catcher. Museum windmill Nederwaard shows how families lived and worked in our mills around 1900. And in Museum windmill Blokweer you can experience working as a miller. View our multi-screen film in the Visitors Centre, located in the former steam-driven pumping station. Get on board of our electric vessel, the Prince Friso, and view Kinderdijk from the water. Feel the wind, smell the water and listen to the sound of the windmills. The Kinderdijk World Heritage site is open almost the entire year!
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We expected to see a few wind-mills then go on with our trip, but we finally spent a few hours there.
An interesting video (multi screens) explains the site. It was quite funny as well.
The visit of a wind-mill itself is impressive.
We then had a nice walk around the site, along the canal, watching ducks, wind-mills and an overall beautiful scenery (full of tourists, but this was not disturbing).
It is a pity there was no proper place to have a nice cup of coffee on the site.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    522
    82
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is a place interesting, whithd green ,ocean, and mill wind ;i recomend .
Is better do the tryp ny car from rotterdam and the month ti visit it wasnt very good because the rain

Helpful?
Thank Manuelanogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Took a boat from Rotterdam to Kinderdijk”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The boat trip itself was lovely, but I have to say the traditional music was just a bit too much of a play to the tourists....we were with Dutch family who also thought it was totally NAFF and cringeworthy....apart from that a lovely way to travel there. The Kinderdijk itself is just beautiful to visit, and we spent a few hours walking around them, entranced by their movement. Well worth a visit no matter how you choose to get there. Well deserved of its world heritage status.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really felt like visiting somewhere uniquely Dutch”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I loved seeing the windmills at Kinderdijk. It was a great experience to walk alongside a couple of canals with mills in front of you - and also dotted around the horizon.

Car parking is €5 - a man is very quick to appear and demand your money! While there is no entrance fee just to walk along the pathways - there is a €6 fee per adult to go inside the working mill number two - where you can see how the machinery operates when the sails are turning. It also shows the living conditions of millers and their families.

The fee also provides access to a cleverly produced film at a visitors' centre that explains the history of Kinderdijk, and why so many windmills were built in one place. It's in Dutch - but there are English subtitles.

Helpful?
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Trip to the Windmills”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The place isa Unesco heritage site. Quite easy to get to by car. Fun for the family to experience the old age windmills. Recommend to rent the bikes to take you further down the road. Can easily spend 3+hours strolling on a good weather day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arisantoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UNESCO World Heritage Kinderdijk also viewed

Kaatsheuvel, North Brabant Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Utrecht, Utrecht Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to UNESCO World Heritage Kinderdijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing