We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience at 4 star price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is excellent value for money in anybody's terms.
Location is perfect, provided you have a car. Just right next to the motorway exit.
Lobby area looks like 5* environment with very modern design and plenty of places to sit down and relax.
The room has plenty of space and the bathroom is just great with a nice and supersize bath tube and a separate walk in rain shower. A separate toilet is not found in many places, here it is. All very spacious and clean. Decoration modern and straight forward.
The hotelbar is a nice place to enjoy.
Swimming pool, sauna, gym, it's all there on the 14th floor with a nice view on the Dordrecht outskirts.
The buffet breakfast is unparalleled with a wide variety of bread, fruits, (show-) cooking egs to your liking, the lot.
Free Wifi is obvious here (but not in all 5* places).
We'll be back, no worries !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tejostr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 570 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you have a car, need a space in the between Rotterdam (20 min), Breda (20 min) and Antwerp (1 hour) and do not mind to be in the middle of nowhere next to the highway, outskirts of Dordrecht, then this is one of the best deals ever. The hotel is brand new. Rooms and bathrooms are generously spacious (mine a superior room), nicely modern decorated, very comfortable king-size bed, great desk & chair, proper WiFi, in-room safe that fits a big laptop, free parking. Breakfast is a real treat in terms of variety, quality and setting (with good weather restaurant has plenty of outside seating). Roof pool, gym & bar. Many and of various sizes meeting & presentations room. The Van Der Valk Brand had a bit of an image problem about 20-30 years ago, but I have to complety reset my perceptions. This one hotel is highly recommended. For EUR 337,50 for 3 nights incl. breakfast you will not get a deal any sweeter than this.

Only minor detail: room mini-bar fridge is empty, no drinks or snacks, and I could not find any sales point on floors or reception either, so stock-up at a gas station or supermarket before checking-in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Very new and very modern. I saw the comment about the stairs and bags etc but there is a lift and a ramp, so I dont know what's the problem there. The staff are amazingly helpful and all speak perfect English. The restaurant is amazing, it has a really cosy but plush atmosphere. One gentleman came in way after the restaurant had closed but they still cooked him something small but hot which is great service!
My Argentinian pepper steak was amazing with a crazy amount of sides, good thing I didn't have a starter. I couldn't even finish the main, great value for money. The only thing is its nota pretty location, but it all depends on what you want .
I would definetly return though.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in the winter. Arrived in the evening, when it was already dark outside. The reception area was very cosy with lots of 'fireplaces'.
1st night - Skyline suite - the room was amaizing, very large, great view. There is a jacuzzi 'in the room' - actually very nice separated from the room (as I donot like jacuzzi in the room) - nice design, and while in jacuzzi you can watch TV. There is also a 'fireplace' in the room - what makes the room very cosy on a winter evening. This is a luxury room.
2nd night - Sauna suite. The room much simplier than Skyline suite - here you do not have luxery feeling at all, very simple furniture, BUT there is a Sauna with a window IN the room and that was just GREAT. While sitting in the sauna we could see how it was snowing outside.Just great!
In both suites they put plastic glasses, no glas, it doesn't suit for a suite.
The Spa on the top floor is small, and the sauna was not hot, just a bit warm. There is a small swimming pool - when we were there ony 2 other people were there, so we could swim a bit. But if there are a lot of people, than it could be a problem.
The breakfast very good, the dinner was just OK, nothing special.
I would recommend this hotel for a winter weekend. If you like luxury - choose SKYline suite.

Room Tip: If you like luxury - choose SKYline suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place in many respects but what poor accessibility. The ramp does not arrive at front door level so one ends up hauling one' suitcases a whole flight of stairs. And same is the case in parking garage, which is half flight of stairs of lift. Incredible bad design for brand new hotel. And yes there is a disabled door through the laundry if one can find it. But Electr door was not functioning because of a bit of wind. Very poor experience and we will never return. Sorry Valk you have many great hotels but this must be the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob_van_Houdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spacious hotel, nice people. Good swimming pool and sauna. Restaurant has a few vegetarian options, I liked the starters (pasta) very much, main dish (polenta) was a little dull. Breakfast buffet was excellent.
We had problems returning to our room: magnetic key didn't work and it took the staff 45 minutes before they tried opening the door with a normal key - after 3 unsuccesful attempts with other magnetic keys...
We had a room bigger room then booked, in the end I was happy with my stay here.
I didn't like the area surroundings of the hotel (see photo), choose this hotel if you plan a trip further away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice new hotel, close to highway but no trafficnoise to be heard in the rooms.
Really nice rooms, comfortable bathroom and free Wifi everywhere.
Breakfast is super, with a great variety of hot and cold food.
Small gym and swimmingpool + sauna on topfloor is really nice and clean !
In all, an excellent place to spend a long wknd...

Room Tip: We had a room on the 11th floor, with real nice views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
1.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
0.2 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
3.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
337 reviews
4.6 mi away
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
865 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht

Address: Laan van Europa 1600, 3317 DB Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing