We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, cozy and very well run.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dordrecht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dordrecht
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Small, cozy and very well run.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My first visit to Dordrecht and I will definitely return when I have more time. Apparently it is one of the oldest towns in the Netherlands and my brief stay was nowhere near long enough to explore it properly.

The hotel Dordrecht is easy to find and overlooks the main canal basin with a quiet garden at the back. It is within 5 minutes walk of the town centre and has private parking at the rear of the hotel.

The reception area is small but personal and all of the staff that I met were efficient and courteous with the usual perfect English. Check in was quick and easy and I had a nice room on the ground floor overlooking the garden area.

The room was a good size with all the required facilities, the double bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and a soft duvet. Good sized wardrobe and a large flat screen tv. Wifi was far from rapid but sufficient to check emails and Facebook. I slept well and had a good shower the next morning. Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cereals and teas. You also get a tray of orange juice, breads and conserves all to yourself!

Overall a good stay and excellent value for money. My room including breakfast was 90 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quiet and near the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
22
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Level Contributor
418 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

For my purposes, the location was great, but that might not be true for everybody. All the rest was very nice: a small family-style hotel with friendly personnel. Rooms are nice, if not luxurious, breakfast is also very personal. This is as far away as it gets today from the lookalike standardised hotels. Very well worth a try!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I picked the hotel as I wanted something close to the historic city center to have the option for a nice walk after a long drive and I wanted something apart from the big international hotel chains. The hotel was the right choice, as it is only a two minutes walk to the city. Room was very clean, well furnished, comfortable and quiet. The hotel is old Dutch style and runs a nice bar, breakfast is not the usual buffet, but served individually. Over call, a place I will go back to and can recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hein-andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is only in business because a lack of options.
The price is ok and the breakfast is included but that is pretty much the only good things.

The room I was given seemed very old fashioned and smelled of cigarette smoke.
The bathrooms seemed to have been newly refurbished and was at least clean but very boring.

The breakfast was the standard bread and jelly and they ask if you want eggs and bacon as well so if you like that it's perfectly fine.

That's pretty much all there is to say about this place, it's more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostSwede470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron3431, General Manager at Hotel Dordrecht, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Yes, we are not a IKEA hotel and at least as a smoker in our hotel it is still possible to smoke in some rooms. If you don' t like the room, always ask for an other one. If you want entertainment, yes, this is the wrong hotel. If you want champagne, caviar and salmon for breakfast, I know a very good hotel in Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dordrecht hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Title says it all really. Walked into reception to be greeted by an awful musty smell resembling oldness and cigarette smoke. Rooms were clean enough but the decor was a huge throwback to the 70's, the lack of sufficient light was like staying in a cave and the less said about the plastic mattress cover the better. Breakfast was ok and staff were friendly. Paid €90 for the night and will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graftonthfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed in Jan 2012 for 4 nights.

The place is dated, my room was in the main building through a cupboard then into my room. quite an odd layout. The bed was comfy enough, TV didn't work, complained and it wasn't fixed. Shower was rubbish and was FREEZING. I told them about this and the lady who was on reception came to the room and couldn't get it hot and suggested I used the communal bathroom, she then went back to the shower in my room and left it for 5 minutes after which it got hot. Could hear water plumbing noises all night.
Breakfast was poor continental fair, not what I expected for €130 a night and I won't be returning. I've stayed in 5* for a lot less than the price of this place what have been a million times better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron3431, General Manager at Hotel Dordrecht, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I remember this guy, he complained at the company he was working with and the company complained with us, he did not spoke a word. He expected a 5* hotel and was from the beguinning insulted (by the company) and negative.

This Hotel is build in 1898 more than 110 years old, most rooms are renovated in 2013. The style as you can see on the picures is more classic, if you expect modern or Bauhaus like design hotel, this is the wrong one.

Ans yes, we don't serve Chinese breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for two nights in rooms in a separate building at the back of the main hotel, overlooking the garden. Rooms and bathrooms were very simple, verging on basic, with ample hot water for showers. TV's were older and the heating didn't work in our daughter's room. The downstairs rooms were darker and colder so I would suggest its preferable to ask for help to cart luggage up the stairs and get an upstairs room.
Staff were friendly and accommodating when we arrived early, allowing us to change in a different room, helping with luggage and booking taxis for us.
Breakfasts were sumptuous and plentiful, comprosing of a good selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads, coffee, etc... Staff tried to be friendly and converse and stated many times that "they were trying to do their best".
This was the only hotel available in the area at the time and if I were to return I would try to find accommodation with more warmth and charm.
Dordrecht itself was a lovely village with good restaurants and shops to browse in. Train to Amsterdam was fast and water taxi to Rotterdam was a great and cheap way to travel.
Definately not good value for money, bordering on expensive.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the separate building outside at the back of the main hotel and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
1.3 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
2.6 mi away
Postillion Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
3.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#6 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dordrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dordrecht

Property: Hotel Dordrecht
Address: Achterhakkers 72, 3311 JA Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dordrecht 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dordrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing