We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Uncomfortable week---EVER!”
Review of Inner City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inner City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Dordrecht B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights because of its close proximity to our office in Dordrecht. For the convenience, I was pleased. There was absolutely nothing else to recommend about this hotel, however. It is truly one step up from a hostel and advertising it as "hotel" is stretching the definition.

My room was more like a dorm room, small, cramped, a locker for storing my clothes. I could only watch TV lying flat on my back in bed---there was nowhere to get comfortable in that room! There was only a cheap plastic folding chair and, when I complained that there was nowhere for me to even place my laptop, I was given an identically uncomfortable room with the addition of a small table fior attempting to do work (the reason I had traveled there in the first place).

I had to make a request to get the thermostat "unlocked" so I could adjust the temperature in the room. It was a drafty room with large, older windows and I spent the first 2 nights wrapped in my comforter trying to stay warm!

|The ventilation system is faulty, so, I was forxced to endure the cigarette smoke of other guests (not allowed, but, they did it anyway) in my room for several noghts. I am allergic, so I am well aware of the presence of smoke, even though the hotel staff told me this was "not possible".

|The included breakfast was uninspiring and exactly the same every day.

I will say that the staff in the breakfast room and the woman who cleaned my room were pleasant and kind, but the hotel staff to whom I complained were pleasant but non-responsive/helpful---agreeing with me about the unsuitability of my room, but, not offering any remedy (except for the already mentioned addition of a table to hold my computer).

Since my company has an office virtually across the street, this hotel could get a lot of business from work colleagues or clients due to its convenience, however, i wouold never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjamespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Inner City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Due to road works we had huge problems reaching the hotel. That, of course, is not the hotel's fault. Upon arrival, the girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful and showed us where to park the car. That done, there was no booking for us, despite several confirming e-mails on both sides plus 2 phone calls from us on the day itself (I had a hunch something would go wrong....). But that was soon arranged by the friendly receptionist; they had one room left. She then showed us our room and explained how the TV, and especially the lights, worked (remote control, a bit weird). The room was small and narrow. There was no room left for nightstands; I used a chair. The wardrobe was some sort of metallic locker; impossible to use. We left our clothes on a chair and on the door knob. The beds were a weird construction: some sort of box spring with an extremely thin mattress that kept sliding off. Advice: do not turn too much while you're sleeping: you'll fall of the bed! The bathroom was nice: big shower, bath tub, separate toilet, lots of towels, toilettries, but no hair dryer.
Breakfast was quite an experience: when I asked for some toast I received a frozen slice of bread, wrapped in plastic and was advised that even frozen, I could stick it in the toaster. When I asked for a second slice my request was met with some astonishment, but the friendly young man brought it to me anyway. Hurray! However, the toaster did not work. Fortunately there was still one roll left, so I had that, plus a cup of tea. No harm done, I am not a huge breakfast eater anyway. My other half had scrambled eggs and two croissants and, instead of plain milk, a glass of buttermilk. So we both left with a full stomach. It must be said though, that while we were eating, the bread basket was refilled.
Check-out was performed by a lady we found in the kitchen and was done very quickly.
The sun shone and Dordrecht is a pretty town, so all in all we had a perfect day and a hotel experience which we will remember.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldeboer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Henk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank kriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Verdieping 3 is de bovenste verdieping. Heel rustig. Kijkt uit op tuin achter.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yv0n31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dordrecht hotels
1.1 mi away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#5 of 8 in Dordrecht
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
0.4 mi away
Heer & Meester
Heer & Meester
#1 of 9 in Dordrecht
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
In de Prinsenstraat
In de Prinsenstraat
#3 of 7 in Dordrecht
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner City Hotel

Address: Johan de Wittstraat 35-37, 3311 KG Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Dordrecht
Price Range: $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inner City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inner City Hotel Dordrecht is a new, small hotel in the old town of Dordrecht. The hotel, located in a 19th century building located, has a sleek modern look. In the hotel bar which is tastefully decorated where guests unwind with a drink. Furthermore, there is limited free parking on site (on request).Inner City Hotel's rooms feature luxurious Dordrecht Pullman beds, television, telephone, free wireless internet, coffee and tea making facilities, desk, chair and bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inner City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing