We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 3 Star stay in Delft”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Koophandel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is historically significant: it was the birthplace, in 1591, of Vermeer's father! Presumably this is a protected building and it explains why there are numerous stairs, corridors and quirky nooks & crannies in the building. Actually, I quite like that feature as it gives some insight into what life might have been like in 16th century Holland. The Vermeer prints throughout the hotel celebrate this (some additional information, perhaps via display, on architectural or historic aspects of the hotel would be a nice touch).

As for the hotel itself, I recommend it thoroughly as an excellent 3star hotel: very clean, comfortable, ideally located in town centre and close to good restaurants, the main churches and a relatively short walk to train station. Breakfast was delicious and a cut above standard buffet selections, nicely presented and fresh, fresh bread! The free high speed wifi was excellent for me to check my emails, etc.

I will certainly look to stay here again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank MD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 115 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Place was just wonderful in all respects...even the price. In the centre of town with easy access to all, especially all the china (Delft) shops. This was most important for my wife and any savings on the room were left in town at the shops. Room and breakfast perfect. Give it a try, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All seemed to be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel with central location where you can walk around the city centre then this is the hotel for you. We arrived early from a long haul flight from Singapore and we only had to wait 15mins before a room was prepared. This is really top class service and why we returned after a stay four years ago. One thing I would say and a tip for travellers is be aware what room you are allocated as if you are upstairs then you have to haul your luggage up the stairs, we had a bit of luggage so this was a pain. Also if you have a room on the front of the hotel you may be disturbed in the summer months as the Beestenmaarkt is still quite active at night, no real problem for us though.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

As has been said the hotel is in the heart of Delft. With excellent choices of cafe and bars. The service is very good: perfectly clean, fresh rooms with very nice style of Rembrand paintings. Maybe, some of the rooms are a bit too small, this is the only negative point i have to say.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlinaVel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel Koophandel is located in the heart of Delft in the charming old city. If you come with a car, the parking house is only a few minutes away by foot and situated in the Beestenmarkt where the pubs, cafés and restaurants are situated. Small shops, canals, museum, university of Delft (TU Delft) is also near by. Everything is clean, practical here and friendly staff. The room we got is no. 32. We are at the top floor overlooking the roofs of the houses in Delft. Quiet and roomy. All is well.

Room Tip: Our room is quiet but you need to go up some steep stairs. So if you are not able to climb many stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heyla20120702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

If you're looking for a small, hassle free hotel from which most city center tourist attractions are within walking distance.

Location - you walk out of the hotel into a charming little square, with cafes/restaurants/pubs and antique shops just a few steps away.

Check-in - We arrived around noon and it was a breeze, which took no more than 2-3 minutes. Be aware that the front desk is actually open from 0700-2300 (Monday-Friday) and from 0800-2300 (on weekends), so if you plan on arriving in the middle of the night you should try to make special arrangements with the hotel.

The room - I stayed in a double bedroom located in the 1st floor. Wifi internet was included with the price of the room and worked well during the whole stay. Very basic furniture and a 19"/21" LCD tv. There is no elevator so plan on hauling your luggage up the stairs (assistance was offered at the front desk). My only complaint would be the mattress and pillows being a bit uncomfortable, but other than that... everything was clean, which is probably the single most important item in a hotel room.

Breakfast (included with the price of the room) - your basic pastries, cold cuts, cereal, fruit juices and coffee... enough to get you started.

Check-out - The night prior to our departir we checked out and the hotel staff arranged for a taxi to pick us early in the morning. No problem here.

In short, a beautiful little hotel which offers the basic: excellent service and a remarkable location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlvaroLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Hotel is tucked on a small square in Delft, but is still very quiet. Bit of a walk from the train station with bag, if it is raining get an (expensive) cab. Hotel is spotlessly clean, but a bit of a rabbitt warren to get to the rooms. There are no lifts (elevators) and the stairs are steep, so if you are on the top floor, you will be kept fit.
Staff are very warm, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is self service, and pretty good, but no hot food, other than boiled eggs. No evening meal or bar, but plenty of restauarnts and bars on the square, just metres away. Bedroom was a very good size, with free WiFI Internet. No problem in staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the square are quieter. If you struggle with stairs go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlowDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.8 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.3 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Plataan
Hotel de Plataan
#4 of 15 in Delft
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
0.6 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Koophandel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Koophandel

Address: Beestenmarkt 30, 2611 GC Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Price Range: $118 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Koophandel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Koophandel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Koophandel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing