We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”
Review of Hotel de Plataan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Plataan
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The place is very nice, especially a historic tree in front of the hotel and nice decorated. The theme rooms are excessively decorated, paintings everywhere and a nice and comfortable bed. But the ceilings of many rooms on the top floor are curved in and I am not really a fan of it. The location of the hotel is the best, you can each for all the landmarks in walking distance. Its nice to spend the evening out in Delft

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arunjunai02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 563 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently attended a family event in Delft and spent 1 night at Hotel Plataan on the recommendation of family members. The location of the hotel is super....right in the historic old center of town within easy walking distance of the main square. I stayed in one of their "theme" rooms at the very top of the 3rd floor (actually up a second small flight of stairs from the "main" third floor rooms. As others have said, the theme rooms are definitely "different" ...each with distinctive and unique decoration. My room was comfortable with a queen size bed, bathtub (right in the room with no door or curtain) and a small bathroom with a good shower (this did have a door). The room also had a sun lamp contraption in the shower stall which I did not try. There were no drawers and no real place to hang clothes so it would have been a bit awkward for a longer stay. The stairs are a bit steep and the (small old fashioned) lift just goes up to the second floor so keep that in mind when you book or request a room. My sister was there with two kids and stayed in a family room.
The lounge/bar area is very comfortable and welcoming. They had some board games available for rainy afternoons and/or for bored kids. The breakfast was a typical Dutch continental spread but they did have scrambled eggs as well as boiled eggs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They also have complimentary wifi throughout the hotel.
So it's not a "business type" hotel by any means, but it's comfortable, friendly and fun...and a good choice for central Delft if you're into a hotel with local personality.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place is very nice, the terrace and the bar are really nice, the ladies are really nice too, the rooms are...something special! Unforgettable! either you enjoy or you hate, but you won't be without any reaction.

Room Tip: the theme rooms are probably the most surprising
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I visited Delft for a conference and I actually was very reluctant to book a room in this hotel - only the themed rooms were available, and I was not quite sure whether they were for real or not. In the website, they appeared a little bit strange (if you know what I mean). Yet, I did book them, since they were the only available near the city centre and the conference venue.
And to my surprise: the hotel was very clean, so was my room, everyone was very helpful with providing directions, support etc., I really appreciated the ecofriendly atmosphere in everything (towels, recycled paper etc.). It is nicely located close to absolutely EVERYTHING! The only downside I found was the slightly poor breakfast and that there was no staff past between 23:00-07:00. Also, there wasn't much space in the closet for all the clothes and things so I had to keep most of my stuff in the suitcase - I got to the conference slightly wrinkled.

Room Tip: Top floors (2nd-3rd) have a nicer view I think because you can actually look at the sky through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at Hotel de Plataan while on a Rick Steves Tour of Belgium & Holland. We were assigned to the Giant Kelp Room and were pleased with our stay. The room had lots of blue everywhere. The walls had an underwater scene as if we were in Atlantis. There were multiple skylights and windows so the room had plenty of light.

The bed was an expensive, adjustable type so we could move the head and foot elevation to suit our comfort. The bathtub was a jacuzzi allowing a nice soak at the end of a long day. Breakfast was good and so was the service.

The hotel was a close walk to the town center and everything we needed to see. There were a number of restaurants nearby with plenty of variety to choose from.

Room Tip: Choose a theme room for maximum fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MethosAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Nice breakfast, nice view on the Plataan itself, rooms could be a little more of this century. The remote of the tv was on a chain, very small bed. I like the way the hotel tries to be eco-friendly, but I think the comfort level could be a little higher to enjoy your stay more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayodelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you're looking for something that isn't whitewashed, then you'll have found it if you come to Hotel de Plataan. The room I stayed in had an outdoors theme and life-sized model of a cow on the balcony. Lovely place with lovel ambience and close to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Delft hotels
1.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel Delft
0.2 mi away
Best Western Museumhotels Delft
0.4 mi away
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
Hotel Leeuwenbrug
#6 of 15 in Delft
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Delft Centre
0.8 mi away
Casa Julia
Casa Julia
#8 of 15 in Delft
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Johannes Vermeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Plataan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Plataan

Address: Doelenplein 10, 2611 BP Delft, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Delft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Delft
#5 Business Hotel in Delft
#6 Romantic Hotel in Delft
#7 Family Hotel in Delft
Price Range: $109 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Plataan 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Plataan is a very friendly and stylish 3*hotel, with a unique character. The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Delft, with the marketplace, museums and other curiosities all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Plataan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Plataan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing