We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting building and exhibits giving a good insight into Delft” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Prinsenhof Delft

Museum Prinsenhof Delft
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.21*
and up
Skip the Line: The Hague and Holland Pass
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Delft
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Museum Prinsenhof Delft is a unique historical building and former court of William of Orange. At this museum, you can pleasantly discover the Dutch history. Learn more about the meaning of the Father of the Nation for the Netherlands. Discover how the famous Delftware became the global brand it is today and how Delft and his residents played an important role in the history of the Netherlands.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Interesting building and exhibits giving a good insight into Delft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Well worth a visit. The new exhibition on Delftware is particularly interesting and well set out. The story of Delft as a city is presented in a novel way covering not only the rise of the rich merchants but also the plight of the poor and the charitable work done to alleviate their poverty. Some very good pictures too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    153
    35
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed most of Delft but our visit to this museum was spoiled by a very rude security person who came in and told me not to wear my backpack on my back( there was no bag check in like other top museums in Europe) and not to point at the painting (I did not touch it, and no museum that I know has rules against pointing). It was all very unpleasant, especially since the rest of our experience in Delft had been so positive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_St_Paul_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumHetPrinsenhof, Public Relations Manager at Museum Prinsenhof Delft, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your visit to our museum was unpleasant. We will take your experience under advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great exhibits and historical information? Would highly recommend!! Loved the delft exhibit, and paintings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mdwaugh2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A revelation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a revelation of 16th century Dutch history and the paintings of the period. Some rare and undeservedly unknown part there. Being the place where William the silent lived and died gave it a particularly vivid feeling. We enjoyed it very much. We were intrigued by the labeling of the exhibits using the present tense throughout even for historical events. given the high standard of English spoken by the Dutch this solecism was a surprise.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHW A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good way to fill a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not really being into museums, I actually found this one fairly interesting. The history surrounding William of Orange and his murder was well presented with English subtitles. I didn't realise that the Dutch royal family were directly descendant from him. There were also a range of artistic presentations from typical Dutch painters of the 16th and 17th century, not really to my taste, but then I do prefer impressionists. It was worth the 8 Euros entrance, but remember it doesn't open until 11 am.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Prinsenhof Delft also viewed

Delft, South Holland Province
Delft, South Holland Province
 
Delft, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Prinsenhof Delft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing